Foco Fashionistas- Hear What This College Junior Has to Say About Her Passion for Fashion

Caroline
4 min readSep 28, 2019

--

Photo by S O C I A L . C U T on Unsplash

Jojo, a college junior is a girl with a passion for fashion. She is determined to stay on trend and even declared her major as apparel merchandising at Colorado State University.

Jojo sat down with me at a local coffee shop to talk about how fashion has influenced every aspect in her life. She showed up wearing a fashion forward outfit that had “fall vibes” written all over it, a comfy sweater, boots and a burnt orange scarf and was ready to spill all the deets of her fashion enthusiasm.

Since moving to Fort Collins from Denver, Jojo has completely explored the city and made it her own by expressing her fashion in every way she can. She has been in love with fashion from an early age. And constantly has the endless desire to be someone who is always fashion forward, which is why I decided to learn a little more about her adoration for all things fashion by asking her a few questions.

How did you get into fashion and what aspect of the industry gets you most excited?

I first got into fashion at a young age when I watched the movie Devil Wears Prada. What excites me most about the industry isn’t even the clothes, it is how they make people feel and how the industry is ever evolving and constantly creating for the women of the future.

What are your favorite affordable clothing brands/stores?

Tiger Mist is my new fave. I really like Princess Polly, Urban Outfitters, and Nordstrom as a brand, I used to work there, and that is where I get a lot of my stuff. Blue Harvest and Tula are my all time favorites in Fort Collins, I like Blue Harvest because it is trendy and super affordable, but Tula is my more nice, shop I go to get clothes for special events.

What could be improved with the fashion industry now? What are some problems? Could be styles themselves, maybe how businesses are run, anything?

Every business should be working towards more sustainability. Fast fashion is a huge issue in the industry, because although it is more convenient for us, it is really awful for the planet. The fashion industry could also continue to work towards body positive branding and be inclusive for more women. Another thing I have been thinking about recently is that companies should also work towards higher quality clothing, so it lasts longer.

How can men be involved in the fashion scene? Since it is generally viewed as such a feminine subject?

Though fashion seems like a feminine subject, it is just how people express themselves. It is important that men explore expressing themselves, because everyone, no matter their gender should feel respected and accepted and fashion is the easiest way to express oneself without saying anything.

How do you maintain your own personal look and stay up with trends while staying on a college budget?

I sell a lot of my old styles and clothes on Poshmark, a used clothing app. I do budget for clothes because I know that this is an area I do like to treat myself with, and I try to keep a lot of my clothes even if they go out of style because eventually they might come back into style and I can wear them again.

Is Fort Collins an easy place to do this?

Short answer- no. I think they have a lot of great options and there’s a lot of stores at the mall and boutiques. However, it is hard to splurge at the boutiques. It is easy to stay on trend if you shop at a fast fashion store at the mall, but there is not many in between stores that are good quality, sustainable, but also affordable.

What do you think of Fort Collins fashion compared to other places?

Fort Collins is so casual compared to so many other places in America and abroad. People dress kind of athletic, mountainy and outdoorsey. People really do start to dress on trend when they go out or to an event, but generally people wear what’s most comfortable regardless if it is on trend.

How do you remain unique, among a crowd of people that try to follow the trends?

I remain unique by trying to get my clothes from smaller name brands, and I try to buy things that I like, not because everyone likes them. I try to style things differently every time I wear them.

--

--