Fort Collins residents talk about their favorite bar food in Old Town

Grace Reader
2 min readMar 1, 2016

--

Ashley Liljeros is a 23-year-old Colorado State University graduate. She studied human development and family studies before graduating last December. She loves wine…which is why I ran into Ashley at Old Town Social. I am unable to drink the wine there, but apparently they have a good selection.

Question: How frequently do you come to Social?

Answer: I don’t actually come that often. I love it here, they have great desserts and wines, but as a recent graduate I have to save as much money as I can.

Question: So is it a bit pricey then?

Answer: Well, in the scheme of things it’s not that pricey. But for a recent graduate or a student you don’t want to spend any more than you have to. And it depends on what you get. If you get wine it’s obviously going to cost more. But if you just come for dessert and wine it can be fun and inexpensive.

Question: So what do you usually order?

Answer: They have pretty good food, but like I said, I’m a dessert girl. I usually get fudge and pair it with a red wine. It’s so good.

Question: Would you recommend Social to your friends?

Answer: Yes I would. I bring friends here all the time. This is a great place to bring friends, especially when they are from out of state.

If you’re looking for a cheaper alternative to Social, perhaps consider Coopersmith’s Pub and Brewing. I have been writing about Coopersmith’s throughout this entire process so I decided to stop in at my favorite pub in Old Town and ask others why they loved the pub. This is where I ran into 22-year-old Tommy Champion, a senior health and exercise science major.

Question: How frequently do you come to Coopersmith’s?

Answer: I have only been here a couple times, but I love it.

Question: And what brought you here today?

Answer: My friends and I were looking to do something different today so we decided to come have a late lunch. Plus we wanted to get a beer and play pool.

Question: Is this somewhere you would bring your friends or family? Do you recommend Coopersmith’s to other people?

Answer: Yes. It’s hard as a college students to go out a lot. Obviously you want to save your money for pizza and beer. But this is somewhere you bring your mom and ask her to pay for your food. Plus it’s nice to come and play pool with your friends. It can be a cheap lunch.

Both of these students had underlying points — college students don’t have a lot of money to spend on food at bars. But if you’re looking to take your mom out and have her buy you food, Old Town Fort Collins has many great options.

--

--