How Easy Fort Collins Makes Being Gluten Free

The personal story of a gluten free consumer on campus.

Katie Spencer
3 min readSep 26, 2016

Ashley Fleck, a senior at Colorado State University, lives a gluten free lifestyle. After publishing my last two articles on Facebook, I saw that Ashley’s best friend commented on my link. She wrote “Thank you so much, now I know where I can take my roomate Ashley out to eat!” I sat down with Ashley to find out what it is like to be gluten free in a college town, specifically, Fort Collins.

She went gluten free at the beginning of August. She decided to see if this diet change would help with her Chrons disease because her medication wasn’t working. At First, it was hard for her because it was a personal decision instead of a necessity. She is now getting the hang of things.

Ashley holds up some of her favorite gluten-free snacks. Most of them have been purchased from King Soopers and Whole Foods.

“Compared to North Dakota, being gluten free is definately more managable in Fort Collins because there are so many different options for me” she said. Ashley is a member of a sorority on campus and commented that the chef’s at the facility are very accomidating. However, she loves to spend her time outside of campus. Her favorite places to eat that offer a variety of gluten free options include Spoons, Restaurant 415, Tasty Harmony, and Q-doba. When she shops for gluten free snacks, she prefers King Soopers and Whole Foods because they include options for gluten free diets as well as vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free.

--

--