Max Tucker: Breaking the norm of Horsetooth photography

Ben Sorrells
Beyond the Oval
Published in
4 min readOct 4, 2019

Max Tucker, a student of Colorado State University, is an established photographer in the beautiful city of Fort Collins, Colorado.

Photo by Max Tucker

Tucker, 19, grew up in Little Rock, Arkansas, and developed a love for photography two years ago.

There are many photographers around town, and Max is one of many that chooses to travel to Horsetooth Reservoir to take photos of all different types.

“I think Horsetooth offers easy access to great views,”Tucker said. Horsetooth comes in first place for Tucker’s top photography spots near Fort Collins.

I had the chance to sit down with Tucker and ask him a few questions about why he enjoys shooting at the reservoir and how he makes his photos stand out from other photographers in the area.

Sorrells: What are some of your favorite spots around Fort Collins to shoot?

Tucker: My all-time favorite spot to go shoot is anywhere on the west side of Horsetooth Reservoir. The hills turn into mountains out that way, and I find it to be some of the best scenery close to town. Another favorite spot is Old Town. I love urban locations for shooting portraits because I think it helps make a human subject stand out. Placing an organic subject (like a human) in a geometric environment (a city) I find helps put focus on the model.

Sorrells: What kind of equipment do you use to capture those environments?

Tucker: I used to shoot on Nikon but I made the switch to a Sony mirrorless setup and now that’s all I shoot on. It’s pricier, but it works incredibly well for both video and photography, which is perfect for what I do.

Sorrells: Horsetooth is an iconic spot for photographers of all skill levels. What exactly makes Horsetooth such a great spot for photography?

Tucker: I think Horsetooth offers easy access to great views. Most of the hikes to the best spots are less than a mile, which is perfect if you’re lugging around tripods and other gear. I’d also say Horsetooth offers a variety of different landscapes and environments. If you were to stand on the cliffs you can look like you’re on top of the world. If you go down to the waterfront, you’re at a mountainous beach.

Sorrells: Pictures from the same angle of Horsetooth often arise on social media. How does one set themselves apart from the “overused” photo at Horsetooth?

Tucker: Setting yourself apart can come in many different techniques. My theory is I have to work harder than the other guy with a camera in the parking lot. But also, diversity in your images comes from in the editing as well as the composition you choose to form on location.

Sorrells: What photography methods do you often use when you’re at Horsetooth?

Tucker: When I shoot landscapes I always carry a tripod with me. I think having a sturdy place to mount the camera is essential for getting the best images. Also, I love shooting time lapses, and that’s probably impossible without a tripod. I also go out shooting about an hour and a half before sunset or sunrise in hopes of getting great low angled sunlight. I prefer natural light to my camera’s flash. I have played around with other methods as well, but I don’t use the same method every time.

Sorrells: Do you think it’s important for people to try out different spots at Horsetooth and use different photography methods to make their photos stand out?

Tucker: I think going out and messing with settings on your camera, trying crazy angles, and just experimenting is the only way to grow as a photographer. If you want to be more than just the tourist with a camera, you have to be willing to try new things and work a little harder for your pictures. I recommend doing the one lens challenge. Whatever lens is on your camera now, you have to use that to get a solid picture.

Sorrells: Lastly, what makes your photography at Horsetooth unique?

Photo by Max Tucker

Tucker: I think my uniqueness in photography comes from my color grading as well as combining photo and video to create unique moving images. I also just love finding new spots by the reservoir and capturing those places to help show what places exist beyond the main parking lot hikes.

Photo by Max Tucker

--

--