Native Colorado Girl Builds Following

Madi Sword
4 min readFeb 13, 2018

--

https://www.instagram.com/dabba_the_hutt/

Fort Collins., As of April 2017, Business Insider released and article that looks into the monetary reality of being an Instagram influencer, and it is currently a $500 Million dollar industry and Instagramers with 50K+ followers can make thousands per post.

Denver woman Kat, aka dabba_the_hutt on Instagram is quickly on her way to that monetizing stage; currently she sits with 11K, but her following is growing rather rapidly.

Kat’s page focuses on cannabis, and how she uses it to medicate and stay grounded. She works with CR Crew, which is a cannabis oriented community that promotes brands and Instagramers. Oddly enough, I originally tried to interview an Instagramer who has specifically worked in Fort Collins, but at last minute she was unable to help, and being that Kat is a completely honest and open person on her page, I instantly reached out to her thinking she would help. Kat and I have had a few previous interactions on Instagram because I have always loved how she has spread such positivity for cannabis on such a regular basis, and each and every time she has been a completely attentive listener, who has helped in any way possible.

When I knew I could interview her, I had to really think about what to ask her because she has a lot of valuable information as a patient, career woman, and local Coloradoan. The purpose was to really get down to the bottom of what made her stand out to over 11k people on Instagram.

https://www.instagram.com/dabba_the_hutt/

Sword: So kat, when/why did you start consuming cannabis?

Kat: I started using Cannabis when I was 15 for various reasons. The main one being I deal with a lot of stomach issues — and without Cannabis I was having a hard time eating healthy and maintaining a good weight. Doctors had a hard time helping find a good cure, so I turned to Cannabis.

Sword: So, when did you become a Cannabis activist?

Kat: I became an activist the second I tried Cannabis and realize the benefits not just for myself but for other people.

Sword: What was your main motivation for advocating?

Kat: To spread the positive word about Cannabis. Share with the world that there is an alternative medicine that will help you and doesn’t have any negative side effects.

Sword: I think it’s obvious as a follower, but do you have a preference for your Cannabis consumption?

Kat: To me it depends on what I need medically. I typically always consume Cannabis by dabbing (vaporizing Concentrates) because it is most beneficial for me.

Sword: Are there any other Cannabis Social Media Influencers who really inspired you to begin advocating?

Kat: My biggest inspirations in the Cannabis Community have and always will be Dr.Dina (Snoop Dogg’s grower) & Happy Tokes — Madison.

Sword: What’s your main goal as an activist for Cannabis?

Kat: Help kill the stigma that Cannabis makes people lazy and unmotivated and help show the benefits Cannabis has to the world.

Sword: How has working in the Cannabis industry been for you personally?

Kat: It has been amazing. Every day I learn something new and meet new people that are all beautiful and unique in their own way and who share my passion. Finding people who share your same passion and love for something is always wonderful.

Sword: What are your personal long term goals, with or without Cannabis activism in the mix?

Kat: My personal long term goal is to continue to learn and grow about myself and the things I am passionate about.

Courtesy of Kat via https://www.instagram.com/p/BeyDm7aDgzD/?taken-by=dabba_the_hutt

As I am currently embarking on my own journey as a cannabis activist, hearing from someone who manages to be 100% themself while still building a brand is absolutely inspiring. Kat talks openly and honestly about the positive effects of cannabis on her emotional as well as physical health, and always answers questions regarding how she came to where she is today.

The cannabis community is constantly growing online, showing more and more influencers moving to Colorado in general, but also the Fort Collins region. Many activists work the same circuit of cannabis events and dispensaries, and there really is a community out there for every different cannabis consumer.

Find more on Kat through her social media…

Twitter

Facebook

Massroots

--

--