Pizza and Ice Cream: It’s more than what you think

Hannah Adams
Beyond the Oval
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2015

--

Photo courtesy of Jason Lam (left), Photo courtesy of gordonramsaysubmissions (right), https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/

Pizza and ice cream — two food legends. Could they work as a team? Their individual strengths are undeniable, but mixing them together is not a smart play.

Just last week, I satiated over a CBR pizza from Krazy Karl’s. Soft garlic pizza crust topped with chicken, bacon, pizza cheese, and a ranch base crumbled in my mouth. The new take on classic cheese and tomato sauce was ultra satisfying.

On a different day, I indulged in a love-it sized bowl of chocolate ice cream blended with brownies and cookie dough from the Fort Collins Cold Stone Creamery. This is my signature mix. Some (my mom) argue that my personal concoction is disgustingly sweet, but my raging sweet-tooth begs to differ. Instead, it is the perfect combination of my favorite textures and tastes. The creamy chocolate ice cream only enhances the chewy bits of fudge brownie in addition to the slightly salty pieces of cookie dough.

Both experiences, the pizza and the ice cream, were unique. They are distinct in nature. One was savory, while the other was sweet. One was my meal, and the other was a treat. I crave each individually. However, in the age of food combination experimentation, maybe there’s a way to integrate these two into one.

Take the new pizza flavor from the quirky, LA based gourmet ice cream shop, Coolhaus, for example. You read correctly. There is now such a thing as pizza flavored ice cream. Combining flavors is always a clever way to get the best of everything, right? Wrong. Can there ever be too much of a good thing? Definitely. There comes a point when foods are better left separate than forcibly fused.

According to Vice, the flavor is made with a mascarpone and olive oil base, mixed with sun-dried tomato, fresh basil, and a bit of salt to finish. Contrary to my inclinations, Coolhaus’s CEO and co-founder Natasha Case says the response has been positive. I remain skeptical, but Case defends her flavor.

“ Yes, it really tastes like pizza — not in a mimicking way, but in a way that is evocative and I think really interesting,” she says.

Maybe for the food connoisseurs, or just the super curious, this flavor is innovative and intriguing. It would potentially fit right in as one of Walrus’s joke flavors. Like Coolhaus, Walrus has played with the idea of ice cream as a new medium for normal foods, and this does attract a certain audience.

As for myself, I think I’ll keep pizza on my plate and not in my scoops.

--

--