Plasma Donation in Fort Collins: A Q&A with Donors

Tim Postilion
Beyond the Oval
Published in
3 min readOct 1, 2015
Source: http://barkermorrissey.com/projects/medical/csl-plasma-%E2%80%93-11-centers.aspx

Plasma donation centers, not only in Fort Collins, see people from all backgrounds walk through their doors. In a last-minute search for donors willing to share their point of view, Rosalie Sage, a photography student at Front Range Community College graciously agreed to give her perspective and opinions on plasma donation, now a regular practice which she began just over a month ago.

Q: To start us off, what first brought you to CSL plasma?

A: I originally got interested in it because I was looking for some extra cash. I really looked into it first though and did a lot of research and I liked that I was going to be helping people. But in all honesty it’s about the money.

Q: So you you did the research, then went in for your first donation. Did you feel like the center prepared you well for the experience before your session?

A: When I went in I felt like they prepared me very well for the experience. They make you go through almost a training type thing before you actually donate. They have you read about it and then watch a video that explains every detail of the process. They have someone near you during your first time so if you have any questions they are right by you to answer them. They also tell you exactly what everything is and what they are doing as they are doing it when you are actually donating.

Q: In your initial research, you probably read up on some of the risks of donation, short and long term. Do you think donor concerns about side effects like nausea and fainting, as well as things like vein scarring and reduced effectiveness of the immune system are valid, or has the center created enough precautionary measures to ease our minds?

A: I think that they are very valid. The center does create a lot of precautionary measures to ease our minds but I think it definitely depends on you as a person as well. The more often I donate I have noticed that it has been taking a toll on my body and I know it’s not just me. I think it has been affecting my immune system quite a bit. I personally have only felt faint and got dizzy once but as soon as you let them know how you’re feeling they stop your donation process and help you feel better and ask you a lot of questions and help you the best way they can. They always make sure you know the risks and what might happen to you but they always have the counter attack for what might happen if it happens.

Q: How do you feel about donor compensation? Do you think these side effects would be as prominent if donors weren’t paid for their plasma?

A: No, not as many people would be donating at all if it weren’t for the money. The side effects in my opinion are not worth not getting paid for. It’s barely worth it now, after your first five times donating you don’t get anywhere near as much as you should.

Q: So lastly, what would you say to a potential donor curious about giving plasma donation a shot?

A: I would say don’t think that it’s easy money. If you want to do it, do it smart. Get a lot of sleep, stay extra hydrated and eat a healthy protein filled meal an hour to a half an hour before you go in for best results. Be careful and make sure you know your stuff before you do it. And no matter what if there is even a slight chance you feel uncomfortable with anything that’s happening during donations make sure to let them know immediately, they will help you to figure out what’s wrong and to figure out how to help.

Thanks, Rosalie, for the insight and information. Good luck donating!

--

--