Player Profile: Nancy Namuth

Micha Bennett
3 min readMar 3, 2016

--

Welcome to the player profile series! He I will be showcasing a Q&A with a variety of female hockey players. First up is Nancy Namuth. A child care provider from Lodgepole, Nebraska, Nancy has lived in Fort Collins for 26 years and plays on the Fort Collins Flames.

When did you start playing hockey and why?

Along time ago , when the dinosaurs wondered the earth….hahaha!!!! About 15 years ago, I never played ice hockey before, I was a late bloomer. I started playing inline [hockey] first, because my ex’s office was forming a team, and it sounded like fun. And I am a person who hates on missing out on fun.

Do you recall your fist day? What was that like?

I remember my first day on ice, I couldn’t stop, and felt like a dinosaur on skates, but I loved it…..

Why did you choose to play in a women’s league rather than a men’s?

When I played inlined [hockey] there were only co-ed teams at first it was fun, but most men don’t like it when a “girl” takes the puck away. There seemed to be a lot of weekend warriors who thought that the game was the finales for the Stanley Cup. It started not being fun. I loved playing a more organized competitive game and the women’s league offered that type of hockey.

Any injuries?

Yes, some hip injuries nothing to serious

What is a typical practice like?

Fun…hahaha…actually our current coach has taught me a lot about the game of hockey, plus we work on increasing our skills. We do a lot of skating which is good!

Do you have any pre-game or post-game rituals?

Some of us try to go out after the game.

What is your favorite thing about playing hockey?

It is like a zen state for me, all my problems and worries disappear when I step on the ice, it’s a great stress reliever. But I enjoy the friends I have made through hockey, that is a big part of our team.

What is the hardest thing about playing hockey?

Since I was a late bloomer the hardest thing for me is getting my skill set up to where I want to be the fastest on the team…hahaha!

Has hockey helped you through any hard times in your life? How so?

YES! Hockey was my life preserver when I went through my divorce, all the emotions and stuff would disappear for that time I was on the ice. However, because of my divorce I was able to make the switch from co-ed inline hockey to a women’s ice hockey team.

What is it like to be a female hockey player in a sports culture dominated by men?

I doesn’t bother me, I grew up being around only boys, and playing competitive sports. Although a lot of men think it is super cool that I play ice hockey. Its a great thing to list on a dating profile…seriously!

How can hockey benefit youth athletes, adult athletes and their friends and family. How can it be harmful to them?

All of my family played hockey so I feel it benefited my family by creating a bond through a level of respect for parent/child on and off the ice rink. My daughter and I play together and it has created a special bond between us, we have memories of the fun times playing hockey that most parent/child relationships don’t get to experience. It helps us maintain a good, positive relationship during the rough time all kids/parents have growing up. Hockey can be harmful if parents push the child to achieve a goal of the parents and not the child.

What is one memory you will always keep from hockey?

I have a lot of super crazy memories of having fun with all the hockey chicks they are priceless, but probably the one I cherish and grinch at the same time is when my daughter called me mom during a game, and all the other players started laughing.

Is there anything else you’d like to add?

Hockey has been there over the years creating memories and making new friends and I won’t trade these memories or friends for all the money in the world.

--

--