Q&A: Food From Home Helps International Students With Homesickness

Veronika Mirkovic
2 min readOct 3, 2016

--

By: Veronika Mirkovic

When I first moved to the US two years ago, I knew the food would be different from Sweden where I’m from. However, I didn’t expect to get tired of American food and miss Swedish food (and home) as much as I did.

I emailed with Bishal Kafle, also an international student at Colorado State University, to hear what he thinks about American food, and if he agrees with me that cooking food from home can help with homesickness.

Q: Where are you from and when did you come to the US?

A: Nepal and 2015!

Q: What was the first thing you ate in the US?

A: Mashed Potato

Q: That’s interesting that it was your first meal. Did you like it? Why/Why not?

A: I didn’t like it as it had no spice in it. My tongue was used to spicy food when I first came to US.

And he’s not the only one saying that

Q: So what was your first general impression of American food?

A: Burgers and Sandwich and I hated them. I went to McDonald’s in Dubai and I hated the food. I had heard about KFC coming to Nepal and thought to try KFC.

Q: Is that your least favorite American food? And what’s your favorite American food?

A: The fast food sucks! But when I go to my friend’s house or host family’s house, they cook real good American food. I had the opportunity to attend a progressive dinner and it was amazing. I loved the food over there.

Q: I love home cooking food! How often do you cook traditional food from your country?

A: I cook at my home everyday, or cook and save it for 2–3 days. Two reasons behind that: 1) I can’t spend money on buying food everyday. 2. I love the food from my home country, I have brought spices from Nepal, and I love the food that I cook.

Q: That’s great. I actually also brought some spices from Sweden. I typically use them I miss home and want a typical Swedish meal. What do you eat when you miss home?

A: Chicken, Rice, Lentils, Beans, Pickle. Goat meat is the best.

Q: What food does the US not have that you have in your country? And how do you substitute it?

A: Goat meat, replaced with lamb. It’s a close substitute though lamb is way too smelly than the awesome goat.

Q: Is that the food you miss the most from back home?

A: Yes. Goat meat and Jhol Momo (Soup dumplings).

Q: That sounds so good! So to conclude this theme, would you say cooking food from your home country make you less homesick?

A: Yes, kind of. I remember my first week in states staying at my host family’s house and eating American food. I was uncomfortable with that. When I then first moved to my apartment and cooked the first meal from my home country’s recipe, I felt so good I cannot even express. Food definitely plays a big role in reducing homesickness.

--

--