Q&A: Is Climate change a communication failure?

Sabrina Kohrt
4 min readFeb 10, 2018

--

Climate Change. You’ve heard it before, but in which light? Climate change communication experts say that climate change, or global warming as some say, is skewed because of the how we communicate it.

We see different variations of how climate change is presented. Everything from a sad skinny polar bear out on a single block of ice in Alaska, to scary data charts and analytics, infographics, and pictures of the earth melting. Are these effective?

I had the chance to talk to Amanda Schick, Ohio native and a sophomore at Colorado State University studying biochemical engineering. Amanda opened up about her experiences with how climate change has been communicated to her, and what we can do to better frame the issue.

How educated are you on the topic of climate change and sustainability?

I’m minimally informed. I joined the club SheJumps at CSU and a lot of the girls in the organization are ecosystem science and sustainability majors. When we go on trips such as backpacking and canoeing they always teach me about “leave no trace” and I’ve learned some about how recycling and things work around Fort Collins.

However I’ve never taken any classes or attended lectures regarding sustainability. For climate change I read what’s in the news and have had discussions in classes about the impacts and causes of global warming, but I tend to avoid these conversations outside of the classroom because people tend to be emotionally charged regarding this topic and I don’t enjoy arguing with others over it since I know I don’t have enough facts or background on the subject.

So do you think that if you were more educated on the topic you would be more likely to engage in climate change discussion? Or would you continue to stay out of it simply because people get too emotionally invested?

If I was more informed I probably would get more involved because I wouldn’t feel as timid voicing my opinion. If I have facts and data to support my ideas then I’m more likely to share them with others and engage in discussions.

I still don’t think I’d instigate the conversations since it tends to be a touchy subject and being informed wouldn’t change this. However, I wouldn’t shy away from conversations regarding climate change if I had more information.

So do you think that some people who feel touchy about this subject possibly just don’t have the information? And they use that as their defense? Or they actually feel strongly about the subject?

I think it’s a combination of both. I’ve met a lot of people who tend to latch onto one or two facts they’ve heard and refuse to listen to any others that contradict their original ideas. Even if the contradicting facts are newer and better supported.

Relating to this, I think many people (including myself) are minimally informed and much of our knowledge has come from the media, which emphasizes a negative frame around this topic. Often the people who feel strongly about the topic are the ones who seek out more information and tend to be better informed about facts supporting their stance on the climate change debate

Do you think that inaction towards climate change is a result of miscommunication about the topic?

One of the issues I’ve learned is that it’s been over-emphasized almost to the point that people feel numb to new information. If the impact isn’t drastic enough then it doesn’t make the news. It’s also been framed in a kind of “doomsday” way with no hope for a way out, which is discouraging. If people don’t see a way to improve then we are likely to give up. I think if we could change the framing surrounding climate change in media then it would prompt more discussions and possibly action.

In your personal opinion, how do you think we could frame climate change better to get people to take action?

I think we should frame it in an neutral way if possible. It might evoke less action initially but I think people will be more willing to listen to ideas if they’re not strongly associated for or against climate change. Then once people have the facts they can decide how they want to interpret them. This will help people be more informed and eventually I believe people will start reacting to the information and hopefully change to improve.

I don’t think we should scare people into action. We should inform them and then encourage them to act on their own free will.

Do you think it is possible for the media to do this today, in such a political world?

Theoretically I think it’s possible though I don’t think the media would be willing to. Unfortunately neutral topics aren’t usually very catchy so they’re not a huge priority.

What is one way that we as students can be more neutral when talking about climate change and sustainability among each other?

I think just be willing to hear both sides. As long as we are open minded and respectful of others then we can hear the information in a neutral setting. Don’t try to force others to agree with you, and be open minded.

--

--