Q & A With Topo Designs, Fort Collins Associate

Erica Giesenhagen
5 min readFeb 12, 2018

--

Andres Sweetland is a sophomore Computer Science major at Colorado State University. Originally from Charlottesville, Virginia, fashion there is more East Coast with predominant brands being Brooks Brothers and Vineyard Vines. In that region of the country, there are not many outdoor activities that are so embedded into the culture like Fort Collins. This means the outdoor clothing look would not really fit in. Coming to Colorado, Andres has embraced the Fort Collins style in his own way. Outside of being a full-time student, he works at a local outdoor recreational clothing company, Topo Designs.

Topo Designs, what its story?

We’ve been around for nine years. Started in Fort Collins. Largely online and overseas is where we got a lot of our revenue from early on. And then the retail portion came later on — much later on. Actually, five years ago was the opening of our first retail location in Denver. Then Boulder, Fort Collins, and San Fransisco following that.

What does Topo mean? Is it an acronym?

It is supposed to embody a topographic map as you can see in our logo. It supposed to mean simplicity and functionality which equates to beauty and aesthetic purpose. Because a map is pretty and simple, but its still functional in its own way.

How did you get a job at Topo Designs?

I’ve always had interest in the outdoor industry as a whole. I followed the company for a long time, but I never owned any products. It was fun moving to Fort Collins, because that is where the company started. I just kind of walked in one day, the manager happened to be in. I asked if she was hiring and she said yes. I didn’t have my resume on me at the time, so I printed it out at Wells Fargo, and then I turned it in and got the job. It has been awesome. Next month, I will have been here a year.

On a personal note, how do you like Fort Collins fashion?

I’ve embraced it. I remember one time I was riding my bike home from work and there was this dad longboarding holidng his kid up, teaching him how to ride a bike. Which I thought was so funny and Fort Collins, and I’ve really started to love that and embrace that. I think its cool how administration here (at Topo Designs) wears like Prana and technical everything, it’s funny. It’s just crunchy, granola-y, earth-toned people.

What is the customer base?

We don’t have a specific demographic. What I do notice is that the really articulate, hip people are the ones coming in. The ones who appreciate USA made stuff. You have the younger crowd appreciating the aesthetic of it, and the older crowd attracted to where it is made. So we get people from all across the map old, young. People come in just based on our color waves, and the stuff we design which I think is really cool. We do a good job at hitting specific crowds.

Are all the products really made in the USA?

85–90% of our stuff is made in the U.S. We’ve recently begun an overseas project in Vietnam that is ethical and regulated with good working conditions. The stuff that is made in the U.S. is the apparel made in California, and backpacks made in Louisville, a city right outside of Boulder, Colorado. Things can be a little more on the pricy side because of this. Things made in the US can be 5–10% more expensive.

Fun fact about a lot of our stuff, specifically our backpacks are made sort of straight-edge, split-tone, and split-block. Because it is a lot cheaper for a U.S. manufacturer to stitch together straight lines other than curved lines. Materials are a lot better quality here, and the stitching is straight lines to ensure durability.

What are the details on the limited lifetime warranty?

We stand by our products. We will fix any product that is torn, or breaking. Sometimes people need to pay if the product was damaged outside of normal wear-and-tear. All of our backpacks have lifetime warranties. We have a local seamstress here in Fort Collins that handles all the repairs.

How do you feel about the company and its values?

The mission statement, values, are something that really resonate with me. I used to work at another shop here in Fort Collins, and it was so much more pushy sales, we need to meet our quota. But here it’s more of getting to know our customers as a human. It’s a lot of fun. A lot of people come in for the colors, and many people come in just to talk. There are new people who come in all the time, but there is also the regular crowd who come in to check for new products too.

Where do you see yourself in the future?

I want to move into web design for the company [Topo Designs]. They usually open up internships over summer so it should be really incredible for me to do and get involved with. I also love taking photos for the company as well. I do a lot of product stuff and tag along on trip with the company photographer. I don’t know for sure what direction I want to go with the company, but I have a lot of options.

What is your take on other outdoor clothing companies in the industry?

I think each company hits its own market. They attract different styles of people. It depends. Fort Collins in specific is a place that really values functionality. There is a balance between Topo and Patagonia, where Topo is more lifestyle, USA made, and Patagonia is pushing more technicality at a decent price. The outdoor industry in general is an open market and each company is ethical and has their own values.

--

--