Running kept me Sane in College

karschwartzkopf
3 min readMar 7, 2016

--

College years are arguably the best years of any young persons life. Mix constant studying, and trying to maintain a social life into the equation, the outcome becomes a stressed, tired, and broke college student. While my story might be similar it has a bit of a different equation. Study, Run, Repeat.

Photo Credit: Karlee Schwartzkopf

Although I had committed to run for Colorado State, The only thing on my mind was having fun. I thought that Partying was just about the only thing anyone did in college.

After Turning 21, my weekends and most week nights turned into hitting the streets of Campus West, and squeezing into every bar in Old town. The night of my 21st included lots of dancing at Rec Room, and Bondi.

As mentioned before, my college experience is a little different. Being a student-athlete is very challenging, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

If it wasn’t for running 60 sometimes 80 miles a week, picking flowers in City Park, or running up and down Old Town, I could not survive college.

What’s different about my story is that, my college experience wouldn’t be the same without running.

The truth is, my team is my family and without them I could not survive all the tests and trails that college brings to a young person.

Because with my team, even though we have struggles on the track, running at the end of the makes everything better.

All the late nights studying at Momo’s, or Mugs with my teammates, make getting an A on that assignment that such sweeter.

Some people might think that being an athlete in college would suck. You miss out on all the bar hopping in Old Town, not to mention the awesome deals in Campus West, but to me running makes me happier than any free drink could.

After I leave the sweet trails of City Park, and running up and down the Purdre. I will forever have the memories I made with my team, who to me are family.

--

--