Staying Sane, One Drawing at a Time

How I Overcome Homesickness: A Virtual Tour

Rachel
Beyond the Oval
2 min readMar 7, 2016

--

People often ask how I manage the whole “1,042 miles away from home,” thing.

It’s not always easy and sometimes the only way is to bring home to me. I manage it through a lot of phone calls to the cheese state along with an abundance of paper, sharpies and pencils at my disposal.

Below is a virtual tour of my room, really.
Some drawings took minutes, some hours, some days.
Some drawings I drew in my room, some at a park, some while in class.

Regardless they all help me clear my mind a bit, especially when that homesick bug comes around.

Enjoy.

This lovely couple was inspired by some random photo I stumbled across. Drawn at City Park in Fort Collins, CO.
I kind of have a thing for elephants. My roommates went out to a party one night and I just wasn’t in the mood. This was the result.
These three fall more under the “doodle” category. The note from my mom and Aaron Rodgers card help with the homesick thing a bit, too.
Closer up of the coffee shop elephant and a weird doodle I did alongside my favorite picture of my parents in their younger years.
I have a hard time getting myself to draw things other than animals and people.
The first one is someone very special to me covered in something very special to me, a work in progress. The second is my kindred spirit.

--

--