The Best Restaurants in Fort Collins as Chosen by a Native FoCo Foodie

Kendall Krautsack
Beyond the Oval
Published in
3 min readSep 29, 2015

Tyler Pettibone is an avid foodie and Fort Collins native. Pettibone has spent many years exploring the food scene in Fort Collins as it has evolved throughout his life. I talked with Pettibone, 21, in a phone interview to hear some of his favorite spots and what he thinks makes them so great.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/6/6c/Mmm..._grilled_cheese_with_dried_tomatoes_%285095259698%29.jpg

Q: So lets get right to the chase, what is your favorite restaurant in Fort Collins?

A: Honestly, I go back and forth on that a lot. Obviously, what mood I am in has a lot to do with what I want to eat and what experience I am looking for. I’ll have to go with two, one for breakfast and one for dinner. Breakfast is my favorite meal and my favorite place to go is more low key than the usual breakfast spots in Fort Collins but Mountain Cafe is the place to be on Sunday mornings when Silver Grill and Snooze are packed. If you want a classic diner experience and don’t want to wait two hours to eat, Mountain Cafe is the place. They also have a nice outside patio that is hidden and intimate. It’s too hard to pick a favorite dinner restaurant, let me get back to you while I think.

Q: You mentioned Mountain Cafe as being under the radar, what other restaurants do people not know about that are worth checking?

A: Bluebird Cafe is another breakfast place that doesn't have too bad of a wait. I think they have a nice menu and satisfying breakfast. Choice City Butcher and Deli is a great place to get and sandwich and a beer. They serve breakfast lunch and dinner but I like to go for lunch for their freshly sliced deli meat. Most people don’t know about them so I’m always bringing new friends with me.

Q: What about different types of foods and nationalities?

A: Cafe De’ Bangkok is my new favorite Thai restaurant. I’ve moved from Chinese food to Thai because it doesn't feel as heavy. Cafe De’ Bangkok is the best Thai place in Foco and I say I order take out from them pretty regularly. Blue Agave has upscale Mexican food that I enjoy. My friends from San Diego always tell me I’ve never really had Mexican food but I think they do a nice job at Blue Agave but then again I’m not a Mexican food snob. My favorite Italian place is Bisetti’s in Old Town. Fort Collins doesn’t have a ton of Italian restaurants but Bisetti’s would be my recommendation.

Q: Lets say its date night, where are you going to take your date and why?

A: I took my girlfriend to The Kitchen at her request because she is from Boulder and Boulder has a Kitchen. Their menu was different from the Boulder location and we were able to get lots of different plates to share, which is fun. They have a nice outside seating area that is in the heart of Old Town so you get to see everything that is happening but it is also intimate.

Q: What is your favorite food?

A: Grilled Cheese.

Q:That was a fast response.

A: Haha yes! This question I have thought about and it sounds lame but honestly, nothing is better comfort food than a grilled cheese.

Q: I’m not judging. So, where is the best place to get a grilled cheese?

A: Well I usually make my own grilled cheeses but I recently went to The Laboratory and they have a tasty grilled cheese tomato soup combo that is too good to pass up. I had to get it and I was not disappointed.

Q: Well I’ve given you some time to think about it, have you decided your favorite place?

A: No! But I will let you know what I am in the mood for tonight! Since its Sunday and the Broncos are playing I’m in the mood for some bar food and beer. I think I’ll head to Jim’s Wings because they never disappoint. It’s too hard to pick a favorite, I just go with my mood and my gut.

--

--

Kendall Krautsack
Beyond the Oval

Newswriter for the Rocky Mountain Collegian and unaplogetic pizza snob