The HOT, hot dog in Fort Collins

Nikki Godwin
2 min readSep 22, 2015

--

Normally I crave a CLASSIC American hot dog tailgating at a Broncos game or on the Fourth of July BBQ’ing with my parents, so generally speaking hot dogs are normally an occasional food for me. Even though I personally only eat hot dogs every once in a while, I really wanted to find an AMAZING hot dog in Fort Collins for that rare craving.

I did some research and it turns out that The Common Link, has the perfect hot dog I was looking for.

The common link is locally owned by husband and wife Derrick Smith And Jesse Doerffel. What’s better than supporting your community while enjoying great food? NOTHING is your answer. Check them out on their Twitter and Facebook to see their whereabouts.

As far as food goes, I decided to order Nathan’s Famous Hot Dog and a Basket of Fries with a side of the house club sauce. Costing me only around $12, it was amazing and satisfying to say the least.

My meal was bit on the pricey side, but that’s what you have to pay if you want more local ingredients. It was worth it though because it was mouth-watering deliciousness.

The hot dog itself was cooked to perfection! The hot dog was laid perfectly between a scrumptious bun that was more of a flat bread versus a traditional bun. I’m pretty basic, so I just ordered ketchup with mine. Even though it was pretty simple, I still fell in love with this hot dog. If you’re not as basic as me, you can top your hot dog with caramelized onions, kraut, or mustard!

I also fell in love with their house club sauce. I definitely should of spent the extra 50 cents to go along with my fries. I couldn’t tell you what was in the sauce, but YOU GOTTA TRY IT.

As well as amazing classic hot dogs, The Common Link has an elk jalapeño dog, a local beer brat, and a southwest green chile buffalo brat.

If you’re not the classic hot dog fan, there are other options to fill your tummy! This food truck also sells burgers and sammies. What more could ya want? Check out their menu for more scrumptious meal options.

The Broncos might not play ball in Fort Collins and it may not always be the Fourth of July, but there will always be The Common Link to serve up the perfect hot dog when I crave one.

--

--