Man Rides 1,900 Miles to Wild Boar Cafe in Fort Collins

Danielle Klein
Beyond the Oval
Published in
4 min readOct 2, 2016

Forest Gump on wheels

On a late Sunday morning, I met some pretty interesting people at Wild Boar Cafe. It was surprisingly packed with all types of people doing homework, hanging out, or even having a coffee date with a buddy.

The baristas that served me were very friendly and high-spirited people, and I immediately felt like these were my type of people.

Photos by: Danielle Klein

As I was sipping my white chocolate mocha (my favorite) and eating my Belgian waffle while John was eating his nachos (of course he came with me, like always), I really payed close attention to the people around me.

Of course there are always going to be your fair share of your average hipsters hanging out, but most of the people there seemed very down to earth.

Naturally, I decided to talk to one of them and ask them some questions about coffee shops and why they were there.

Photo By: Danielle Klein

This guy specifically. He seemed like an approachable kind soul.

His name is Mark Friis, and is probably one of the most interesting people I have ever met. He is one of those guys that people write about or aspire to be like in books and movies. If I could describe him in one word, it would be free.

Me: So what brings you here today Mark? Are you from Fort Collins?

Mark: I actually am from Redlands, California. Technically I haven’t even been here in Fort Collins for even 24 hours. I biked here from Portland, Oregon.

Me: What!? You rode your bike all the way from Portland?!

Mark: Yep. 1900 miles.

(He answered like it was no big deal at all)

Me: Wow! 1900 miles. That is really amazing, I have never met anyone who does that. You’re kinda like Forest Gump!

Mark: Haha, you would be surprised by how many people say that. It’s definitely not the first time someone has said that. But yes! 1900 miles. I do it all the time. Yesterday I rode straight into New Belgium, because I am a bike advocate, and they kind of made a big deal about it. I am writing an article about them.

Me: You really haven’t been in Fort Collins long at all! What brings you here to Wild Boar Cafe?

Mark: Well, the funny thing is that I don’t even like coffee (OF COURSE I would choose someone who doesn’t even like coffee), but every where I go, the first thing I always search for is coffee shops to visit. Wild Boar Cafe was the first place that came up. I will go anywhere except Starbucks.

Me: I don’t necessarily like Starbucks either myself. What do you not like about it?

Mark: I just think that it’s sterile. It doesn’t have any character and I hate how it feels when you go there. It is too commercial.

Me: I agree. I love little local coffee shops. What do you think about Wild Boar Cafe? What do you think about the culture these coffee shops present?

Mark: I really love the atmosphere. Everyone is really friendly. As for the culture in coffee shops in general, it seems that they are kind of a hang out spot for kids these days. Back in my day, there used to be clubs and places dedicated for kids to go hang out but now that there aren’t as many and the ones that do have so many rules, these kids have no where to really go.

Me: Yeah you’re right! I remember hearing about organizations like YMCA’s and places like that.

Mark: Yeah! Places like that. The worst part about it though is that these kids are broke and need a place to study will buy one small coffee and stay for hours, taking up tables. That is probably the worst part. I have four friends that are coffee owners.

Me: I have never thought about it that way! Probably because I am one of those kids that are broke, but now that you put it that way it is kind of a bummer.

Mark: Other than that, I think it is a wonderful environment to be in. And that is why I am here.

Mark and I talked for quite a while. I learned that he didn’t go to college and worked in construction for 25 years, and is currently a bike advocate. He is married and is looking for a job that is outdoorsy and free.

We discussed the schooling system and how is wacky (even though I am paying thousands of dollars to be graded on this article) and how experiences are more meaningful and informational. He loves to listen and learn from people’s stories about life, which I really value.

I learned from his stories, just by having a conversation in a coffee shop. So next time you go grab a latte and hang out, talk to someone and have a conversation! I know it is tempting to put your headphones in and hide from life in a corner, but you would be surprised how satisfying it is to have some human interaction!

--

--