Why Finding the Perfect Pizza Place in Ft. Collins is Essential to Everyone

Christian
Beyond the Oval
Published in
4 min readSep 22, 2015

People sometimes become overly defensive about the pizza they eat, and for good reason. According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture 13 percent of Americans eat pizza on any given day. Americans eat a lot of pizza, myself included, and it is for this very reason that finding the right pizza is even more important. For the time and money spent on pizza, we might as well find the best pizza around.

I’ve found my pizza fix at Krazy Karl’s in Ft. Collins Colorado. Ft. Collins has a lot to offer pizza-wise and after both eating and spending my time at nearly every pizza-venue around, I’ve found the one that does everything right. Ever since finding Krazy Karl’s, eating pizza has found a whole new place in my heart.

Why would someone care so much about Pizza? I, and many others like myself, care so passionately about pizza because we consume it so often. Because it’s such a consistent staple in most Americans’ diet, it’s important to make sure that we’re getting the most out of our eating habits. If you’re a health fanatic who’s looking to better their eating habits, perhaps an article like this doesn’t suit you.

Everyone Eats Pizza

Seriously. In the past month 93 percent of Americans have eaten pizza at least once. Odds are the majority of people reading this article can recall a time they’ve eaten pizza within the past month. Pizza is everywhere and it’s because of this pizza-centric culture that Americans should begin to better educate themselves and begin forming opinions on which pizza they would prefer to eat.

I consume pizza at least once a week, and that’s a generous estimate. Given that there are about 52 weeks in a year, at minimum I’m consuming 52 pizzas annually. Not only is that a lot of pizza, that’s a lot of money and time that I’ve decided to spend on pizza. Consequently, I’ve come to better understand my pizza-eating tendencies and preferences which I can use to make sure that all 52 of those pizzas are the 52 best pizzas I can find.

What if I don’t eat Pizza that much? It doesn’t take courage or bravery to begin finding out your pizza tastes, all it requires is some experimentation. Next time you order pizza, order from somewhere new. The best way to find out what you do and don’t like is by trial and error.

People Are Picky Pizza Eaters

Whether or not we realize it, we already have preferences when it comes to pizza. Asking someone what they like most about pizza uncovers which aspect of it they find most desirable. 43 percent of Americans believe crust is the most important aspect of any good pizza while 23 percent believe sauce is the ideal ingredient. 21 percent preferred toppings to everything else, and 13 percent were swayed by the cheese.

Finding out what your biggest pizza deal-breaker is a great tool to use when comparing the pizzas you eat and then judging which one you liked better according to your taste buds.

I’ve always found crust to be the most important aspect of a good pizza, and Krazy Karl’s has a great flavorful crust that I find myself looking forward to as I begin each slice of pizza. I was able to identify that crust was my most important pizza factor and sought out to find a place that met that criteria.

Pizza Provides Energy throughout Your Day

Studies have shown that on the days Americans ate pizza, 27 percent of their energy came from the pizza they had eaten. If your body is going to be so reliant on the pizza you consume, wouldn’t you want it to be reliant on the best? How you classify the “best” pizza is entirely up to you.

Perhaps you want your body to be running off healthy and nutritious energy, in which case a local organic pizza shop may be what your stomach has been searching for. On the other hand, the “best” pizza may very well be whatever guilty pleasure you love to indulge in. If the latter is the case, it’s better to be satisfied and content with what you ate rather than remorseful and lethargic.

Pizza is bad for your health anyways, why don’t I just eat something else? Well that’s dependent on the type of pizza you get. There are certainly pizzas out there that cater to a more balanced and nutritional meal. There’s always the option to not eat pizza, or find a balance in your overall diet that would allow you to eat pizza occasionally without feeling guilty.

Pizza Is a Major Consumer Industry

Annual pizza sale revenue in America is 32 billion dollars. That is a lot of money, which in turn, equates to a lot of pizza. Those figures alone speak volumes to the amount of pizza Americans consume. Pizza is a competitive consumer market and it is because of this market that there is a type of pizza out there for everyone. Different producers try to appeal to different consumers, each one trying to reach a certain target audience.

Finding a pizza place that fits you as a consumer shouldn’t be a challenge. The industry has evolved and grown so that it shouldn’t have to be. I’ve lived in Ft. Collins for almost 3 years now, and I’ve made it my job to try and eat pizza at every possible place simply because I love pizza. I love the taste, I love the culture, I love finding pizzas that do different things better.

I’ve accepted the role that pizza plays in my consumption life, and the sooner you do too, the sooner you’ll be maximizing your pizza-eating.

--

--