Fort Collins is Fort Collins Because of Horsetooth

Cole Pearson
2 min readFeb 18, 2019

--

It goes without saying, Colorado would simply be another Kansas were it not for the Rocky Mountains. Horsetooth, in my opinion, is our own local proof that we’re more than prairie.

Obviously there is a lot here in Fort Collins. From the insane number of breweries, at times infuriating love of biking, and historic beauty of Old Town, living in Fort Collins doesn’t suck by any means. But Horsetooth is what really gives this city that wow factor.

We come to Colorado to enjoy the outdoor recreation. I feel at home when I’m in nature, away from the screens and able to experience life as it was meant to be before technology existed. Kayaking, mountain biking, rock climbing, hiking, swimming, fishing, camping. All of these and more can be done in and around Horsetooth, making it the most important destination in Fort Collins. Having this kind of ease of access so close to a city of this size is what gives us our distinct character. Of course the mountains are still accessible and for anyone that is truly dedicated, they will make the drive for their recreation. Having a space like this, however, gives people opportunity to get into the outdoors at the drop of a hat. Without Horsetooth, the active, adventurous mindset so common around Fort Collins wouldn’t be nearly the same.

From my time living here, I have taken notice of the effect that Horsetooth has on people new to the area. My twin sister who has always been a serious homebody came to visit me in September of 2018. The first thing I did was take her to Satanka Cove on the Northern end of Horsetooth. We spent a couple hours hanging out and as we were leaving I asked if she could ever live here. Without any hesitation she shouted yes and still talks about how much she loved that day. Whenever someone comes to visit, the first thing we do is drive up to Horsetooth and it always blows their mind. Every person I take there tells me how jealous they are of what I’ve found (I know, that’s a bit conceited) but they genuinely can’t believe that I have access to a place like that so close to where I live.

In 2016, foursquare users voted Horsetooth Reservoir the third best lake in America. The surrounding terrain makes for an astounding experience when you are down on the water that is hard to match.

When you are down on the water, the cliffs rising to the classic image of the horse’s tooth, surrounding you, making you feel small, that is hard to match. There will always be a long list of reasons why Fort Collins is such an incredible city. For me though, Horsetooth will always be at the top. Seeing the formations beyond the city every day reminds me just how lucky I am to be here. This outdoor playground is the single factor that makes Fort Collins so livable and the reason I can call this place home.

For more about Horsetooth click here.

--

--