Why Movie Theaters Still Matter

Carsen Porterfield
3 min readFeb 5, 2018

--

In 2017, the entire world watched over 140 million hours of Netflix per day, that’s fifty-one billion one hundred million hours of movies and television for all of 2017. Now this isn’t an article about what a waste of time that is. I don’t think it is. It’s people watching quality films and programs, enjoying everything these works of art have to offer.

My problem is with that much content, watching a blockbuster film versus beautiful indie film all recieve equal attention. With movies being so readily available to us we no longer appreciate the theatrics of cinema like in local theaters like The Lyric. We lose the magic of going into a massive theater where the smell of hot popcorn pollutes the air and the sound of arcade machines whistle in the background. Movies used to be a special treat that we would look forward to seeing a rare, special occasion that excited and thrilled. I remember when I was a child, my parents would surprise me after school by taking me to the movie theater and buying me popcorn. Going to the movies will always have a special place in my heart.

Now don’t get me wrong, streaming movies is one of the greatest inventions since putting sliced bread on a sandwich. And I almost watch a new movie every day through services like Netflix and Hulu. Plus they have revolutionized how we consume content in almost every way. My goal is to show people that going to the movie theater still has so many benefits.

And no, it doesn’t have to cost an arm and a leg to go the movies anymore. I recently signed up for the subscription based service MoviePass, Which works in every theater in Fort Collins, and it has been one of the greatest investments I’ve ever made. The service is $9.95 a month and with that you are able to watch a movie every day. That’s right, for only $9.95 you can see a movie every single day at over 4,000 theaters across the country. This service is almost too good to be true and it has made movie going so much better. You no longer have to worry about the hassle of paying for a ticket, with a simple app and a custom MoviePass card you’re ready to start watching movies to your heart’s content.

You might argue that this will keep you from multitasking. Well, friend, that’s the point. The great thing about going to the movies is the fact that you can take a break from your hectic life and be able to lose yourself in film. With streaming and online services, movies can become a kind of background filler while you use your phone or write a paper. Movies are projects that have taken months of manpower and heart to make and they should be seen as a work of art that should be appreciated.

Movies are my favorite thing in the world and they have shaped who I am and have made a massive impact on my life. I love the feeling of going to a movie theater and sitting down with a bag of popcorn and coke. The trailers of upcoming movies are something I look forward to every time and I still get a little chill when the lights dim down and the movie starts. This is something that I think everyone should experience in life.

I know that as technology progresses and services become more and more available, movie theaters will become a thing of the past. But before that happens, everyone should know the magic that movie theaters and cinema have to offer.

--

--