Why wine culture is for our generation

Austin Harvill
3 min readFeb 17, 2019

--

The proliferation of self-care, quiet nights inside, and general introverted-ness in modern 20-something culture speaks volumes about what young adults value today.

The more I interact with my peers, the more I see a tired visage marred with broken expectations of social replenishment. Why? Because 15-credit hours and a part time job or two or nine is normal. Who wants to end their shift of dealing with customers by dealing with drunks and yelling?

Here, then, is why wine may play a part in cultural evolution. In my previous article, I talked about how to get into wine culture and change its perceptions. Now I want to share with you the culture I envision; a culture not of my own creation, but one I found in a quiet metropolis bordered by steep hills, small roads, and simple folk — my old home of Pordenone, Italy.

Dinner is a three-hour-minimum affair of small courses and lots of wine at nearly every restaurant. It’s convivial and welcoming, like a casual conversation on feel-good steroids. It’s like Netflix-and-chill with a side of freshly baked bread and a cheese plate.

It is, I argue, exactly what Millennial and Gen Z adults want to see.

Coloradans have defined a new beer culture that doesn’t revolve around the brew’s propensity to get one wasted. I think there is room for a new wine culture in much the same way, with even more emphasis on conviviality I saw in Italy. I believe fermented grapes can help our generation make more meaningful connections in the way we want to see it.

We’ve seen the need to shift a millennial work lifestyle towards a more engaging environment, but not one that is overwhelming. Personal connection is making a comeback through the use of social media, but conversely this causes some serious heartache as it is missing that completely human element.

The kicker is, even though it seems like a lot of my peers are introverts, I think that is a misconception, and I’m not alone. The upcoming generation just doesn’t have the same sense of community as our predecessors. We have social media to fill that gap between “completely and utterly alone” and “partying until I throw up in the bathroom with Becky holding my hair.”

Here in Colorado, the reverence in which locals hold fine beers does fill that gap. Additionally, like with most things American, there is only two settings for wine: box-wine binges after a break-up or suit-and-tie formal events where you have to pretend you know something about viticulture. So the conclusion could be to stick with brews. Unfortunately, the craft brew industry may not hold back big industry and thus remain a stalwart cultural aspect in Fort Collins.

Regardless of what happens to beer, Coloradans don’t have to stick to the brew. Wine is an untouched avenue for many young adults. Colorado has a pretty expansive wine region without a lot of pretension, unlike California’s Sonoma Valley.

So, the next time you think about scrolling endlessly through an Instagram feed that does not feed you emotionally or socially, don’t. Maybe go down to the liquor store and ask the guy what’s easy to drink. Text your friend to come over. Put on some chill music, pop the bottle, and uncork the beginnings of a new culture that was tailor-made for you.

--

--