A Fart Inspired My High School Basketball Team

After it first infuriated our already mad coach

Scot Butwell
Beyond the Scoreboard

--

The best sports memories in my life aren’t related to winning a championship game.

My high school basketball team finished in last place during my two years playing on varsity.

So I don’t have many memories of victories. No narrow wins over a rival to win the league title.

No big wins. Period.

Almost 40 years have passed since my playing days, but the moment that stands out the most is when a former teammate farted at halftime.

I can still see our team sitting on benches as the fart echoed through the locker room while our coach ranted about how badly we played.

Pfffffffffffffffffffffft!

It wasn’t just a regular, ordinary toot. The fart rang out like a high-brassy trumpet sound and our coach went ballistic in seconds because we were immediately in various stages of delirium.

And it kept going!

It thundered triumphantly like the theme song to Star Wars with a da-da-da-dah melodic rise and the fart felt as if it would go on for an eternity.

Our coach took the fact we were laughing at a fart as a character fault and a sign we were not…

--

--

Scot Butwell
Beyond the Scoreboard

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.