Hoops Has Always Had a Special Place in My Heart

Pivotal points in my life, basketball has been a best friend

Mike Butler
Beyond the Scoreboard

--

Photo by Abhishek Chandra

Dear grandson,

I want to share with you something very near and dear to my heart. A friend. A close friend. It’s something amazing. Exciting. Inspirational. Something that has always been there for me.

It’s basketball.

My first love.

June 4, 1976: Welcome baby basketball

The romance was born on June 4, 1976. I was an impressionable nine-year-old.

Glued to the tube.

It was Game 5 of the NBA finals. The hated Boston Celtics versus the underdog Phoenix Suns, who just happen to be also a nine-year-old franchise.

A three-overtime thriller. Arguably, the greatest NBA Final game ever played. Phoenix took a temporary lead with four seconds left in the second overtime, but Boston’s John Havlicek appeared to sink a game-winning 15-foot bank shot with no time left.

Sea of green

Green-clad Boston fans poured on the parquet court. The referees cleared the chaos. One second was added to the clock. The Suns’ Paul Westpaul, later to become a head coach, calls a timeout. Phoenix had none and is…

--

--

Mike Butler
Beyond the Scoreboard

Top NBA, sports, and music writer. Editor for Beyond the Scoreboard.