Kelce and Swift Made Me a Fan of Love

New hope for the jaded

Linda Kowalchek/L.K. Smithe
Beyond the Scoreboard

--

Photo by Katie Salerno for Pexels

I have come to accept hate as a normal part of life.

Having been a divorce lawyer for more than 20 years before making the switch to writing, I have witnessed varying levels of hate.

There’s the “you will never get the goldfish; I will flush it down the toilet before I let you have it” degree of hate.

There’s the “I will tell every single person who knows you exactly the type of person you are and what you did” type of hate.

And don’t forget the “you will never see the children again” hatred.

But what about love? Where does love fit in? In a world where people change relationships like a pair of underpants, I wonder if love still exists.

Well, sadly, it doesn’t. Love is fleeting. Love is transient. And love doesn’t last — at least not these days.

My life experience has taught me that today’s world is all about immediate gratification and disposable relationships, whether with your employer, your pet, or your lover.

People quickly grow bored and dissatisfied, so they cast aside what they once cared about and replace it with something or someone that makes them happier for the time being.

--

--

Linda Kowalchek/L.K. Smithe
Beyond the Scoreboard

Writing about real life. Proponent of the passive voice and bringing “that” back. Member of the typewriter generation. Reach me at Linda.kowalchek@gmail.com