Long Live the Black Mamba

The world will never forget the legacy of Kobe Bryant

Jason Reynoso
Beyond the Scoreboard
4 min read21 hours ago

--

Photo by Christopher Johnson by CC BY-SA 2.0.

On Nov. 3, 1996, a kid from Pennsylvania made his debut in the National Basketball Association with the Los Angeles Lakers at the age of 18.

His name was Kobe Bryant.

He was a phenom prospect from Lower Merion High School with high expectations.

Although it was a slow and bumpy start, averaging just seven points a game in his rookie season, he would go on to have a legendary and Hall of Fame 20-year career.

All while wearing the purple and gold.

From his very first basket, his memorable 81-point game, his five NBA titles, winning the Most Valuable Player of the Year award, passing his idol, Michael Jordan, on third of the all-time scoring list, dropping 60 points in his very last game, and being inducted into the Hall of Fame, Kobe Bryant built a legacy that will never be fulfilled.

He was the epitome of greatness.

To us, Los Angelinos, he was a symbol.

He bled purple and gold.

He rebuilt the winning culture the Lakers were known for.

He made fans cry.

He made fans cheer.

It was amazing just to watch him play.

His matchups were against some of the best players in the league like LeBron James, Dwayne Wade, and Tracy McGrady.

Those were great games to watch.

I remember all the times I would go to the Toyota Sports Center where the Lakers used to practice when I was a kid with my dad to meet players and get their autographs.

Players like Pau Gasol, Sasha Vujacic, Jordan Farmar, Luke Walton, Derek Fisher, and even trainer, Gary Vitti, would stop to sign my basketball.

I even skipped school or even lied about not having school just so that I could keep going.

Did I get scolded for it? Absolutely.

Even so, I don’t regret it, they were moments I would never forget.

One player whose autograph I never got was Kobe Bryant.

However, there was one day when my dad and I did see him.

He was in his car talking to security and my dad and I called his name but unfortunately, we were told to leave.

It was a bummer, but before we left my dad did a fist pump and Bryant did one back at him.

To me, it was as good as an autograph.

That was my favorite memory.

Bryant ruled Los Angeles.

Even when the Los Angeles Clippers had their “Lob City” shenanigans going on and were having better seasons than the Lakers, Los Angeles was still about the Lakers and still about Kobe.

Even when the Lakers were having catastrophic seasons, fans would still watch because of him and him only.

He was also the toughest player there was.

He played with broken bones, and torn muscles, had his finger dislocated and then had it put back, and even shot two clutch free throws on a torn Achilles.

That was the mamba mentality.

I remember his very last game.

I didn’t watch all of it because I procrastinated on an essay that was due the next day, but I made every excuse possible to get out of my room and watch the game.

My mom got mad but that still didn’t stop me.

The crowd was going insane.

When it was all over and he made his farewell speech at the Staples Center that ended with him saying “Mamba out” with the mic drop you couldn’t help but shed a few tears.

I thought that would be the saddest moment regarding the 18-time All-Star.

But I was wrong.

On Jan. 26, 2020, the sports world mourned.

I remember my mom waking up and with a melancholy look on her face she told me, “Kobe died.”

I was tired but that woke me up immediately.

I was dumbstruck.

As she left my room she told me to not check my phone but I did anyway.

When I checked, I had three missed phone calls from my cousin and a text from my uncle that read, “Sorry J.”

I still couldn’t believe it.

I immediately went to Google and the first search that was trending was “Kobe Bryant helicopter death.”

I wanted to believe that it was a hoax until I saw that sources such as TMZ and ESPN confirmed it.

I was still in denial until I heard my dad crying in the living room — and he rarely cries.

Many were in shock.

Players and coaches in the NBA couldn’t help but be emotional.

It didn’t hit me until the next day.

I was driving to class and I saw a lot of cars hanging Lakers flag outside their window.

The Church’s Chicken already hung a banner in honor of Bryant and his daughter, Gianna Bryant.

The more I saw people on the sidewalks with their Bryant jerseys the more tears began to flow.

When I parked at the school’s parking lot, I broke down in tears.

Watching his memorial service didn’t help either but it was a sight to behold with speeches from his wife, Vanessa Bryant, former teammate, Shaquille O’Neal, and his idol, Michael Jordan.

What was most unforgettable was how the people paid their respects.

In the NBA, teams took an eight-second backcourt violation and a 24-second shot clock violation in honor of Bryant’s two numbers that he wore throughout his career, eight and 24.

Murals were made by artists worldwide.

His impact reached far and wide.

Even though he is gone, his legacy continues to live on.

Happy Mamba Day everyone and long live the Black Mamba.

Thank you for reading my story.

--

--

Jason Reynoso
Beyond the Scoreboard

Hoping to work in the journalism field. Aspiring sportswriter.