LOS ANGELES LAKERS | NBA IN THE 1980s | PROMISES, PROMISES

Pat Riley Promised Me the Lakers Would Win it Again

I connected with the coach in a packed Forum parking lot

Mike Butler
Beyond the Scoreboard
6 min readJul 29, 2023

--

Photo courtesy of Picryl

NBC Sports anchor Fred Roggin announced that the 1987 NBA champion Los Angeles Lakers would end their title parade by having a city-size pep rally with all the players and head coach Pat Riley today at noon at the Forum.

Today at noon?

I couldn’t leap off the couch fast enough.

I had to go, but I only had a few hours. I needed a partner in crime. A navigator. A wingman.

Just like Shaggy needed Scooby Doo. Or Richie Cunningham relied on Fonz. Thelma and Louise… never mind, bad example.

My brother Scot already had a beach day with his buddies. I tried my best friend Jay. Out of town on vacation. Lloyd? Already working at Perry’s Pizza. Mark? No answer.

Nobody. Nobody wanted or could be reached to venture a mere 30 minutes to the Fabulous Forum to celebrate the Laker’s glorious run to gold over the despised Boston Celtics and Larry Bird.

Oh well. There was only one thing to do. Rev up that engine, Starsky. Screw Hutch! This guy was heading to the Forum solo.

--

--

Mike Butler
Beyond the Scoreboard

Top NBA, sports, and music writer. Editor for Beyond the Scoreboard.