BTS Member of the Month: October

Ubaydah Abdulwasiu
Beyond the Stereotypes Tribe
3 min readOct 26, 2021

Aishah Motunrayo Ajetunmobi

Yayy,🎊 It’s another edition of BTS Member of the Month, and I brought Aishah Motunrayo Ajetunmobi, a Medical Student at the University of Ilorin into the spotlight. Enjoyy!✨

“ Your life is nothing more than a love story between you and Allah. Nothing more. Every person, every experience, every gift, every loss, every pain is sent to your path for one reason and one reason only: To bring you back to Him.”

Ubaydah: Can we meet you?😊

Aishah: I am Aishah Motunrayo Ajetunmobi. I love that my Aishah is spelt as Aishah(with the H at the last letter😌). You can also call me Qaanitah. Actually, I have a variety of Islamic names depending on the environment I am in. So, Enough about my name😉. I am an aspiring content writer and I love horses so much.

Ubaydah: Nice meeting you Miss Aishah(with the H as the last letter)👀, I will consider adding one more Islamic name too.😜

Tell us the name of your school and your course of study

Aishah: I study Medicine at the College of Health Sciences, University of Ilorin.

Ubaydah: Masha Allah! Nice.☺

So why did you choose this course of study?

Aishah: As far as I can remember, I’ve always had it in mind to offer a helping hand to people in distress. I love putting smiles on people’s faces and relieving their pain. Another major reason is to create a safe and comfortable environment where Muslim women can receive sound and quality healthcare without having to compromise on Islamic values. So, yeah with Medicine I got my boxes ticked.

Ubaydah: Love love this🤩, May Allah make it easy for you.

Can you tell us what you think about the stereotypes Muslim women face in the community?

Aishah: Muslim women face stereotypes of different kinds (emotional, psychological etc.) — from bosses at work, people in society or even from family members. Society has this notion that Muslim women aren’t competent enough to succeed in the professional realm because we “cover”. However, The world is beginning to realise that our covering up doesn’t mean we aren’t liberated, industrious, intelligent or talented. In fact, Hijabi trailblazers have emerged and are breaking records( as evident from our WCW amazing personalities) and I’m certain that more will emerge, Bi idhni Llah. I hereby urge all Muslim women to be keen on improving themselves amidst all challenges and strive to maintain their identity as a Muslimah in any situation they find themselves in.

Ubaydah: You said it all sis, May Allah ease the affairs of the Ummah. Aameen.

You have been a member of BTS for a while now, how has BTS been of help to you?

Aishah: Beyond the Stereotypes has been a great blessing from Allah to me. A huge one. It kept me occupied during the COVID-19 lockdown and I’ve gained a lot from this platform. BTS Skill Hub especially has the accolades as I took and completed my first ever online course during the six months mentorship programme. My Mental Health First Aider and official Journaling journey started with BTS😎And! I’ve connected with a lot of awesome ladies too❤️. Summarily, BTS is a full package. May Allah bless the thoughtful convener and the indefatigable executives, Aameen!💚

Ubaydah: BTS executives are happy to have made this impact and May Allah continue to ease the tasks. Aameen.

What is your favourite quote, sis?

Aishah: Quite a number of quotes appeal to my mind but I’ll share one of them:

“ Your life is nothing more than a love story between you and Allah. Nothing more. Every person, every experience, every gift, every loss, every pain is sent to your path for one reason and one reason only: To bring you back to Him.”

Ubaydah: I love this.❤

Plantain or Pizza?

Aishah: Plantain takes all my love!😍

Ubaydah: Wow, plantain lovers like me.😘

Jazakumullahu Khairan sis for your time, it was nice knowing and interviewing you.

You can connect with Aishah on Linkedin

ABOUT US

Beyond the Stereotypes is a community with the aim to increase the populace of skilled Muslim women in Africa.

Beyond the Stereotypes Member of the Month seeks to appreciate active members of the community by interviewing them to know them better. This serves as a way to connect more with the members of the community.

Connect with us on social media to know more:

Instagram

Linkedin

--

--

Ubaydah Abdulwasiu
Beyond the Stereotypes Tribe

Tech | Productivity | Random thoughts | Changing the narrative one code a time.