Why There is an Eating Disorder Problem in Argentina

Dr. Jennifer B. Rhodes
Awakening
Published in
5 min readFeb 2, 2021

--

If we do not intervene in our culture now, our mental wellness is going to suffer in ways we are not prepared to handle

Me walking through the Palermo section of Buenos Aires in 2019

Our medical model of modern psychology looks at symptoms as things to be fixed and cured. And certainly, with the severity of something like an eating disorder or suicidality, we need a medical perspective. Over the last ten years, I have travelled the world and also lived in 4 US cities, Buenos Aires, Beijing, China and Vancouver, Canada. In all of those places, I have interacted with my colleagues in the mental health community and asked questions about why certain illnesses were more prevalent than others.

The traditional psychology answers never satisfied my curiosity. We have long known that there is a connection between eating disorders and trauma in psychology but this information does not always translate to our medical system responsible for inpatient treatment — despite the work of some very accomplished researchers and clinicians in the field.

Eating Disorders and addictions were never an area of expertise in my training. I am heavily trauma trained and relationship science trained but as I’ve embarked on my spiritual journey and dove into expanding my medical intuition and healing skills, information started popping up that seemed to warrant at least a discussion.

--

--

Dr. Jennifer B. Rhodes
Awakening

Sex & Relationship Alchemist | Author & Speaker | Intuitive | Psychologist @jenniferbrhodes