My Job Has Changed A Lot. I Am Suddenly — Teacher, Mum, Wife, Cook, Cleaner, Mediator

Founder and investor June Angelides discusses lockdown life in London

Danielle Newnham
Beyond Work
6 min readJun 8, 2020

--

This is the fourteenth interview in the Beyond Work series looking at how founders and innovators work from home during the global pandemic of Coronavirus. In this interview, we head from New Delhi to London to speak to tech entrepreneur and investor June Angelides.

June Angelides is an investor at Samos Investments, Founder and Former CEO of Mums in Tech.

June previously worked on entrepreneur banking at Silicon Valley Bank and was named the 6th Most Influential BAME tech leader by the Financial Times and 15th Most Influential Woman in Tech by Computer Weekly. She is also on the advisory board for Mentoring app, Cajigo, which aims to get more girls and women access to careers and skills to work in the tech industry. And June spends a lot of time mentoring and working with underrepresented founders to help them access funding.

May 2020. London, England.

What does a “typical” day look like for you now?

In terms of where I work — to be honest, it depends on where my 2 year-old is most likely to let me work. Sometimes I am lucky to work at my desk which is in my bedroom and she sits on the bed watching Frozen (on repeat these days). Sometimes I have to work at the kitchen table so I can listen in on the older two working. Our nanny is tutoring them virtually and they often need reminding to stop chatting or to do their work. I’ve learnt to be very fluid as to how I approach my new home working set up. I definitely miss being able to lock myself in a quiet room so I can do some deep thinking, but I’ve learnt to working with my noisier co-workers.

7am: I quietly tiptoe downstairs so that I can have my cup of tea with the windows open listening to the birds

7:30am: The kids usually wake up and I make their milk

8:00am: I get them dressed and give them breakfast

8:30am: I get dressed and eat breakfast

9:00am: Home school begins. I log our nanny into Whereby on the computer and get the kids settled on the dining table.

9:30am: I usually have my calls from 9:30 so that I know the kids are settled

12:00pm: Lunch for the kids. I generally try and get them into the garden for an hour so they can run around and burn all the pent up energy. Even if it’s raining they can go out for a bit with wellies and a rain coat. I also try and sneak a call in around this time because the house is a bit calmer and they can play with my youngest, Iris.

2pm — 3pm: P.E with Joe and reading. I try, if possible, to get involved with the exercise otherwise I find it hard to fit it in the day.

3pm: Home school finishes. They love 3pm! Once school is over it helps me a lot because Adam and Ivy (older kids) can entertain Iris. I then go upstairs to my desk and they can watch a film or play games.

5pm: I always make sure I am done by 5pm so that I can start on dinner. My husband and I now make dinner together. It’s been great having him home. This is usually the most stressful time if he weren’t home because all the kids would have wanted my attention at the same time.

6pm: We all eat dinner together

8pm: Kids go to bed

8–10.30pm: Movies with my husband

10:30: Bed

How has Coronavirus impacted your life/work?

The first few weeks were tough. I didn’t realise how much anxiety I had until this all started. I had to work really hard at getting that under control. I used apps like calm and really had to work extra hard to stay centred.

Life has changed a lot. I’m usually running around, racing to get to the office, coming home to pick up one of the kids to take them to an audition or an after school activity. It’s slowed down, but actually it’s not. My days are really full. I normally work three days a week but these days it feels like seven. That’s because I am suddenly — teacher, mum, wife, cook, cleaner, mediator. It’s a lot emotionally. The kids have been brilliant though. I never imagined they would cope so well in all this. They are very close and are so happy in each other’s company. That really inspires me to find the joy in the little things.

We love to bake as a family (when we can find flour :-)) and Ivy loves a good tea party. So there are lots of things to look forward to even though we aren’t going out and seeing our loved ones. We have adapted and we video call our families every day. If anything, in a strange way, we are more connected than ever.

In terms of work, it feels like business as usual. The world of investment hasn’t stopped. I still speak to founders every week. I’m spending more time with our portfolio companies and making sure I understand how best I can be helpful. Now is the time for investors to go above and beyond. It can range from making introductions, to sharing a post on social media, to just being an ear to listen to any troubles.

What productivity tips have you found useful whilst working from home?

I found it really useful to have a timetable for the kids — even if we don’t follow it to the letter, it helps to structure our day.

We use Whereby for home schooling. Our nanny helps the kids with their homework and lessons during the day. It’s brilliant as they can screen share and she helps make sure they are browsing safely.

Kidadl has been amazing for home school resources for the kids. I love getting their emails.

Tech will save us is brilliant as my son loves science and loves to code. We signed up to their subscription service. Best decision ever.

One of the best investments during lockdown was a printer. I print out colouring and worksheets for the kids. It’s hard to have them on the screen all day as that’s not how they would work at school.

Also lots of crayons and paint. Let the kids be creative, it’s brilliant.

WhatsApp video has helped us stay connected to family and friends. We have also had the occasional Zoom party.

What five books would you recommend during this time at home?

I am a massive Sophie Kinsella fan and I’m currently reading I Owe You One.

Other books I love:

The Other Bolelyn Girl by Phillipa Gregory

Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

Becoming by Michelle Obama

Mindset by Carol Dweck

When this is all over, what will the opportunities look like?

It looks like life as we know it has changed. It’s hard to say how much of our previous behaviours will return. As an investor, I am constantly thinking about this and what framework to use to assess opportunities. I suspect experiences will need to be redesigned if covid lasts for a while.

We will still want to go out and shop and watch shows and eat out. It may just happen differently. Architects have a big job ahead of them. I also think there is an opportunity in in-home experiences. If we are going to be spending more time at home, I suspect there will be a lot of innovation here around entertainment, exercise, cooking and interiors. There has never been more accelerated innovation.

--

--

Danielle Newnham
Beyond Work

Host of Danielle Newnham Podcast — interviews with tech founders and innovators. Writer. Author. Recovering Founder.