6 questions with…. our new Head of Engagement

What motivates our movement’s new Head of Engagement? We sat down with Sarah Hutt to discuss her transition, goals, productivity tips and more.

BeyondMe
BeyondMe
4 min readSep 13, 2017

--

Meet Sarah Hutt, an inquirer with a skill for navigating relationships that matter.

BM: As we know, BeyondMe is all about supporting good causes. What cause do you support and why?

SH: The common theme across causes I’ve worked on — like conflict, injustice, social mobility and mental health — is that I know I’ve been very lucky. I’ve grown up in a safe environment with a brilliant healthcare system, good schooling and excellent support. It maddens me that other people have been less lucky, so I care about things that try to reset the balance a bit. I think those who are born likely to succeed have a responsibility to those who aren’t.

BM: You joined us with a background working in politics. Do you think the world beyond Westminster has enough opportunities to tackle old problems in new ways?

SH: Absolutely not, but that’s probably because I also have high expectations! It’s really hard to make a difference in Westminster without people on the outside contributing ideas and tested social solutions. In fact, I was attracted to BeyondMe because it gives people an opportunity to make change themselves without being dependent on the machinery that comes with ‘Government’. My ultimate aim would be to see more collaboration happen so more small but ingenious ideas can make a big impact.

BM: Millennials these days are often described as a ‘generation in transition’. What are you transitioning to?

SH: I’ve worked with quite a few different organisations in unpredictable environments for the last few years so I’ve felt in constant transition. I’m also about to be married so that’s certainly one to mention! Professionally, I’m transitioning from the mindset that making a difference means directly working for a charity or campaigning against unjust laws. That’s what I grew up thinking, but today I see a much wider range of players are essential to creating a better society — businesses, professionals, tech, entertainment. We can’t outsource change to one sector anymore. I’m really enjoying introducing people to opportunities where they can make a big impact in ways that would traditionally have been closed off to them.

BM: What has been your favourite moment with the BeyondMe movement so far?

SH: We recently spent two days working with the graduate induction of a new business setting up BeyondMe Teams. Hearing the charity pitches also made me think that so many people would gladly give their time and skills to someone they know and trust, but the problem is that it can be hard to connect everybody together. It was a delight to see the grads, their charity, and very senior people at the business all working together. In such a short space of time, 30 twenty-something professionals were partnered with 4 fantastic organisations working on projects I can’t wait to see the impact of. I love how simple something like giving can be — and the passion and enthusiasm of our members bring means there is never a dull moment.

BM: What do you hope we achieve in your first year in the movement?

SH: The core of everything we’re doing is to get charities the skills they need to help the people they exist for — whether that’s the girl in Sierra Leone who isn’t going to school or the teenagers dealing drugs outside my flat. Primarily I want to see more people linking up with charities to help those people. As part of this, we know that charities really need those with tech or communications skills, so I really want to improve our links in these areas. (Shameless plug: if you know anyone, any businesses, or have these skills yourself, let me know!) I also want to make sure we’re supporting the people on our programme as much as we can with what they need.

BM: How do you stay on top of everything we need to do? Got any productivity tips for members balancing work, life and a commitment to giving?

SH: Hearing so many moving case studies of partnerships working their magic in BeyondMe, it has really struck me how important it is to:

1. Choose intentionally and choose wisely; decide what you really want to do with your life, your spare time and your work and how you’re going to do it. I used to work for the Archbishop and he deliberately aligns his priorities with his diary. If it’s not one of his pre-decided priorities, it’s going to take a fight to get it in the diary. It’s so easy to respond to the loudest voice, rather than steering your own course.

2. Rest properly. Find what really energises you and make sure you make time for it: without that, you’ll find it harder to stay motivated or at worst, burn our.

3. Make lists. I use a googlesheet with a column for what the task is, who it’s with (if I’m waiting for something) and when it’s due. I write it all down in there.

Got your own questions for Sarah?

Join her at a Friday Taster Call where you’ll get a quick introduction to the causes and community behind BeyondMe’s big social impact.

--

--

BeyondMe
BeyondMe

BeyondMe is a growing movement where professionals, businesses and charities join together to make a meaningful impact on the world beyond them.