All work and no play?

BGL Tech
BGL Tech
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2019

Amanda, Senior Business Analyst, talks about how flexible working at BGL Tech has helped to improve her work-life balance.

Photo by Xavier Mouton Photographie on Unsplash

Here at BGL Tech, you’re given the option to shape your working patterns in a way that suits you and your role.

When my son was three years old, I became a single parent and his primary carer. I suddenly found myself in a position where I needed to adapt my working hours in a way that was different to the standard 8.30am — 5pm. By communicating this with my line manager, we were able to negotiate an agreement which allowed me to reduce my hours slightly and adjust my start and finish times. This made a huge difference, meaning I could reduce childcare and be there to collect my son from school a couple of days a week. These young years are so precious and I don’t want to miss a thing, so this change gives me more time to spend with my boy!

Not long after making my request for variable start and finish times, BGL introduced a new ways of working programme to their list of benefits as, which now also includes:

  • Job sharing
  • Working part-time
  • Flexible working

While a change in my working hours has helped to improve my work-life balance on a personal level, I’ve also been able to take advantage of the Group’s working from home policy. As a Senior Business Analyst, this flexibility gives me the time to truly get my head down, conduct my analysis and get all my admin cleared.

I love my job as a Senior Business Analyst, and having the option of flexi-time is an added bonus and another reason why I enjoy working here at BGL.

--

--

BGL Tech
BGL Tech

The tech team behind BGL Group’s Insurance, Distribution and Outsourcing Division and Group functions such as Information Security and IT Operations.