Joining BGL’s new Technology Assurance team

Mum-of-three Maddy Govier joined BGL to thrive on a new challenge and for the company’s flexible working benefits. She explains here why she loves her new role:

Press Office
BGL Tech
3 min readSep 7, 2019

--

Photo by Mimi Thian on Unsplash

I was attracted to BGL for many reasons — one of which was that it seemed to be progressive and forward-thinking. It started as a small company and today is an ever-growing organisation which, in itself, presents different challenges such as new ways of working, more governance and greater scrutiny.

I joined a newly formed team at BGL called Technology Assurance, ultimately looking to support the Chief Information Officer in identifying and assisting the business to mitigate technology risks. Having worked in a variety of organisations before (ranging from small, medium and big corporations) and having been part of setting up new information security, governance, compliance and IT audit functions, this was a similar opportunity to what I had been part of in the past and I thrived on the challenge.

This aside, BGL was closer to home than my previous job. There was also the additional benefit of remote working from home. This was great, as although I enjoyed my previous job, I felt I had to move on due to the distance of travel, often travelling for over five hours a day. I knew that working for a company which is located closer to home and offers a flexible working package would contribute to ensuring proper job satisfaction and work-life balance for myself and my three young girls. For me, it is just as important to have a presence, particularly with a new team, as it is to be able to support my family in the evenings.

BGL has many perks, including: great company premises with subsidised gym, coffee shops, free parking and subsidised canteen, pension contributions, BUPA, and the offer to buy or sell five days holiday. You also get an extra day’s annual leave for every year you’ve work for the company, and there’s a monthly FAB Draw where everyone in the company has the chance to win, at random, prizes including an iPad, £500 holiday vouchers and £3,000 cash. Staff wellbeing and satisfaction seems to be really important and a large part of the company ethos.

What does the Technology Assurance team do?

We identify information technology risks and provide recommendations on addressing them. We also advise on industry and regulatory requirements that the organisation needs to meet.

The thing I love about this role is the challenge. You’ve got to actively convince teams to adopt change — something that can prove difficult sometimes — and explain reasons why particular things need to be done to mitigate risk. I’ve come across staff assuming they’re being audited to catch them out, which of course isn’t the case!

I love the variety this job brings. We get to review different things, meet different people, work with different levels of staff and have a constant challenge. We often need to relay difficult messages to teams to ensure risks are understood, which can sometimes involve changing a process that has been undertaken for years. Whilst this is difficult, there is a sense of satisfaction when this succeeds, ultimately adding value by helping to reduce risks.

BGL has provided me a platform to utilise my skills and passion whilst maintaining a perfect work/home balance.

--

--