My name is Maia, or as people know me on-stage, mxmtoon.

Welcome to Maia’s Tiny Desk:

b.glen
bglenish
4 min readJun 7, 2021

--

mxmtoon [PC: Blythe Thomas]

“prom dress” singer, mxmtoon is no newbie when it comes to building community, and getting in front of faces on the internet. Maia was initially introduced to the digital world when her parents granted her access to a household computer, where Maia was quick to sign up for an array of social networking sites.

“I think my friends and I first started recording YouTube videos several years ago, but none of us really knew what we were doing, or took it seriously enough to gain traction. Eventually as I began to grow as an artist, I knew I could do more with YouTube at this point.”

“My music is definitely the main outlet I use to express myself, and establish connections with people, worldwide. Throughout my life, I’ve worked through things in a variety of ways, but music has definitely supported me in times when nothing else was working.”

“I feel like one of the worst feelings we can experience is feeling like whatever it is that we are going through, we’re going through it alone. I really want my music to be a message for people to know like, ‘Hey, I’m here & I feel you’ “.

“When I’m having a tough day, I definitely turn to [listening to] music. I also have an amazing support group of my friends and family. Sometimes the world can feel so big and daunting. A cute movie, or dinner with family can bring so much peace.”

Coping with COVID.

‘creep’ cover artist, mxmtoon [PC: Blythe Thomas]

“Like many other things, the start of COVID was super unsteady. I was just about to start touring, and then that was squashed so quickly. In hindsight, I’m thankful though”.

Maia’s history with social networking definitely supported her online presence during the ongoing pandemic. “I didn’t really have that fear going into it, because I knew I’d done this before.”

Maia adds, “But I do have to say, although I wouldn’t mind performing for a virtual audience, nothing in the world compares to when you’re in front of a group of people singing along [live]. I’m very eager to get back to that, hopefully soon.”

Beauty is Born WITHIN.

“You could be the most beautiful person in the world, in the eyes of society. But if you don’t believe and/or trust that within yourself, it’s void of any meaning”.

Maia nods as we reinstate our beliefs on true beauty here at b.glenish!

“I’ve done a lot of work on my own mental space, and establishing my voice to help me solidify my self confidence and self esteem”.

“Beauty outside of you comes more easily to you when you reassure yourself that you are beautiful already as you are. Everyone has their days, it’s only natural.”

On Recreating Radiohead’s ‘Creep’.

“This was one of my favorite projects I have ever worked on! I definitely don’t think I could outdo Radiohead with their original hit”, Maia gushes.

“But nonetheless, I found my own way to put a unique twist on the song, and it was so much fun. I’m grateful that the response was so positive, too.

Creativity is the ‘New Cool’.

“I started out just as a girl in my bedroom, playing around with my ukulele, and no matter how far I’ve come, I’m always drawn back to my OG instrument. I actually try to always play my songs on my ukulele. I think the more people who open themselves up to their creative side, the cooler of a place the world will be.”

Maia’s Acne Struggles & #1 Skincare Tip.

“I struggled a lot with acne when I was younger.”

Just 20 years old, Maia reveals that she still deals with skin issues from time to time. However, maintaining a regular routine has helped her skin significantly. From toners to a variety of treatments.

“More than anything, you have to apply sunscreen every single day. I still feel as though we could be better with these here in America. But I think we’re moving towards that. “Eating well and using supportive vitamins has helped me, too. It’s an inside, out mission.”

If You’re A New Listener to mxmtoon, Start Here:

[PC: Blythe Thomas]

As Indie music continues to rise, many people find they need that one “starter song” to get themselves used to the flow, and to grow alongside a new artist. We’ve especially found Maia’s music to be very easy and peaceful to listen to. Maia notes, “I definitely think everyone should check out ‘Creep’, but I also think ‘fever dream’ is a great song to start with.”

“I’m always hanging out on the internet”, laughs Maia. You can find me on most social channels [linked below], and I do have more collaborations to come with Life is Strange.”

There’s a lot more to come from mxmtoon, and we don’t think you’ll want to miss this.

Check Out mxmtoon Social:

Instagram: @mxmtoon

Twitter: @mxmtoon

Tik Tok: @mxmtoon

YouTube: @mxmtoon

--

--

b.glen
bglenish

Skincare, Elevated. Born in California. Rooted in Japan. Read more about QuSome Technology: https://www.bglen.us/abouts/qusome.html