Arushi Ralli
Bhor
Published in
2 min readOct 23, 2018

--

Depression has no face, or does it?

So, I look happy, joyful, and fresh.
So, I write about hope, love, gratitude and respect.
So, I do go out with friends and you do see me enjoying.
So, I really can make people feel positive about themselves.
So, I do like travelling.
So, I do eat, a lot.
So, I do give hugs and express love through touch.
So, I do feel beautiful.
So, I do things which I love.
So, I do sleep.

I do things and look happy. I know so many of us "do things" and look happy, to others.

But, do we feel it?
Do we really feel it or is it momentary?
Do we feel it or we never feel it, and its hard to come out with the truth as shame pulls us, stops us, tells us to bury and shun away and makes us want to still believe in the illusionary world of
I, being depressed,
Never?

A face or no face?

A face, when we look at the pictures or meet, and make believe, "Oh, you look perfectly happy!" indicating, "You are happy!"

No face,
when,
Only when,
we ask.
We create safe space to talk about feelings,
feelings,
anything and everything.

No face,
when,
we maintain eye contact,
and accept
vulnerability
as a part of us,
of what makes us
Human.

No face,
when,
we listen,
listen to not advice,
no lecturing,
no suggestions,
when,
we are no problem solvers,
but ignitors,
who strengthen them,
to believe,
their fire resonates with ours.

No face,
when,
we don't,
assume.
Assume and live in our pretense,
Of how the other is fine.

It's still okay to ask, right?
It's still okay to try and create safe spaces?
It's still okay to be there?
It's still okay to let someone know she/he is not alone in this?
It's still okay to encourage someone to seek professional help?
It's still okay to send a goodnight or good morning message?
It's still okay to look in the eye and accept each other's vulnerabilities?
It's still okay to give love, be kind and empathize?

Because,
we're all one.
We're no different than the other. We feel emotions,
and,
not being able to feel emotions is also an emotion.

So, you decide,

Depression has no face, or does it?

If you found writer’s story inspiring, follow us on Facebook & Twitter to share your views and support us!

--

--

Arushi Ralli
Bhor
Writer for

Looking at both personal and and professional life, I am a heartivist. Being a Psychology enthusiast, a counsellor, and teacher.. I strive for catharsis. :)