It needs to be said

Jonny Cosmo
Bhor
Published in
1 min readNov 5, 2019

Whilst wondering the hills of Southstacks in Anglesea, Wales I began to contemplate suicide. Not in the morbid sense of wanting to take my own life, no, but I began to think about how it feels to be in that situation comparing the ‘battle’ that takes place in ones own mind to an actual historic, bloody and gruesome battlefield. I thought about the vikings and their notion of Valhalla in which only warriors dying in battle went to the most esteemed heaven, to which I decided to think about the families of those warriors. Surely the family of a warrior who came home after the battle were much happier rather than a warrior who fell in war whatever external influences might have said.

Is a warrior who dies in battle more victorious than one that doesn’t fall

It maybe so but the warrior who comes home lives to fight another battle

In the midst of darkness, in red, in war.

Dying in the name of grace may seem courageous

But victorious are the survivors who fight to come home.

My nomme de plume is Jonny Cosmo I am an aspiring poet from Preston, Lancashire, UK. I have battled with my mental health for many years and now hope to inspire others to win that battle if they themselves are suffering.

--

--

Jonny Cosmo
Bhor
Writer for

My name is Jonny Cosmo I am an aspiring poet from Preston, Lancashire, UK. I have battled with my mental health for many years and now hope to inspire others.