Why I Started Bible Story

A Catholic Journey Through Scripture

Nino Padilla
Bible Story
2 min readFeb 10, 2023

--

WELCOME & GOD BLESS

I was in college when I made my first serious attempt to read the whole Bible.

My purpose was to understand God’s word and know how God calls me to live.

Unfortunately, I found many passages incomprehensible, and I quit eventually.

My second attempt was when I started working. Back then, I even bought a mini commentary to help guide me through the dense scriptural text. However, like my first attempt, I didn’t succeed.

It wasn’t until recently, when the American Roman Catholic priest Father Schmitz released his Bible In A Year podcast, that I was inspired once more to embark on my journey with the scriptures.

I began my third attempt with the Bible at the beginning of 2022, and I’m happy that this time was more successful than my first two attempts.

Photo by Rachel Strong on Unsplash

THE PURPOSE

Recently, I had this epiphany moment while undergoing the Bible In A Year.

Why not share and transform the notes I’ve taken into an article format?

That way, people who prefer reading to listening would find the format more suited to them. Also, I can share what I’ve learned rather than keep them to myself.

After months of prayer and discernment, I started this publication, Bible Story, here on Medium.

My mission is to help others understand God’s word and share how He calls us to live.

FINAL WORDS

Understanding God’s word is a lifetime journey.

I don’t intend the articles in this publication to encapsulate all of what the scriptures mean to say.

God’s movement is mysterious, and there will always be things that escape our grasp.

Reading scripture, after all, involves not only the intellect but an openness of one’s heart.

And in my journey with the Bible In A Year, I realized that whenever I grapple with passages I don’t understand, I must not force myself to get through them.

Instead, I must beg the Lord to give me his grace.

To bless not only my mind but also my heart. That I may not only store His word in my mind but also embody what He asks from me.

I pray that God blesses me with the capacity to fulfill the mission He instilled in me in starting this publication.

I also hope that whoever will come across the articles in this publication will be enlightened about how God draws us to him.

My dear brothers and sisters, let’s pray for each other.

And let’s see each other in the Eucharist.

--

--

Nino Padilla
Bible Story

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.