Proverbs Unpacked

H.K. Holland
BibleFellow
Published in
3 min readJul 8, 2023

--

A new book…

Book cover for my new book

This is the first time I have written a detailed commentary on a particular book of the Bible. This has been an adventure for me. Very challenging, but I am glad I have finished what I started.

Why this book?

I have always admired the book of Proverbs. I have always wanted to make them part of my life. However, I just didn’t understand some of them. So, I set out to understand them. Every single verse.

And I started by counting them. 918 verses. 15,000 words. Then I read through the entire book. Out loud. And then I read the commentaries I could land on. About 6 of them. This process took me three months. Just reading and studying and making notes where necessary.

After three months, I relaxed and focused on other books unrelated to Proverbs. This was last year, 2022. And then at the start of this year, I started on this book. That was on 7th January, 2023.

Each time I completed the verses in a chapter, I ticked that chapter.

I marked the chapters and the number of verses in each chapter. Sort of like a discipline and motivation. And every time I finished a chapter, I ticked, as you can see in that picture.

--

--