Our External should reflect Our Internal

Rich Holt
Biblical Christian Worldview
3 min readJun 18, 2024

Let go of one external that makes you who you are, and replace it with something that goes all the way to your heart.

Scripture

Our verse for today comes from Mark 7:18, ” So He said to them, ‘Are you thus without understanding also? Do you not perceive that whatever enters a man from outside cannot defile him?’ “

Background

Today my son embarks on a new but brief chapter in his life as he serves this week in the North Carolina Legislature as a Senate page. When I was in high school, I knew a couple people who served in this capacity, and I remember thinking a couple things. First, it sounded like the most boring way to spend a week that I could imagine. What 16-year-old would want to spend their days listening to congressmen debate new legislation or ferrying papers between offices? Nothing had less appeal to me at the time than anything political. Also, why would anyone, especially a non-adult, voluntarily sign up for something that required them to wear dress clothes, especially a coat and tie? Anything that could not be done in tennis shoes and a t-shirt was anathema to me at that age. But now I better understand the opportunities of being a page, and I am proud of my son for wanting to experience this process, tie and all. For as of today, this will be the first time he has worn one. But the instructions were quite clear, out of respect for the legislature and its members, all male pages must wear a coat and tie.

Application

Now my son will not be any different today for wearing a tie than he was yesterday without one. And he will not behave differently because he’s all buttoned up (except he might move a little slower). But he will be viewed differently. What he puts on will affect how he is received, and if he is received even at all. But you and I cannot put on anything that affects our stance before God. I know you know this, but I think it still seeps into our subconscious and subtly impacts our thoughts about ourselves and others. Externals are flashy affectations that can deliver a powerful punch, and we are apt to make up for the shortcomings of our hearts by putting on what others can see and judge as acceptable. But what’s going into your heart is what’s affecting your true ledger, and God sees it. So save the tie for your boss, and give your heart to your King.

Charge

As we seek Him today, let go of one external that makes you who you are, and replace it with something that goes all the way to your heart.

AuthorRich Holt | BCWorldview.org

SalvationEternal Life in Less Than 150 Words

--

--