Be / Become a Bible-Reading Christian

3. A Method to Start Your Daily Bible Reading

Mucsi Ferenc
Biblical Christian
4 min readJan 18, 2024

--

Photo by Ben White on Stocksnap

I did not count how many times I’ve read the New Testament. But I estimate that it’s around 100. I don’t say this to brag. It’s just a tiny fact in the sea of reality. But if I tell you how I did it, it may help you.

The first key is that I had plenty of time to do it. I have been a Christian for more than 40 years.

That means I didn’t have to read the New Testament 10 times a year, only two to three times.

And yes, I’ve also read the Old Testament about 20–30 times.

I had a hunger for the Word of God. I wanted to know God’s will. But I needed a method, too.

In this writing, I tell you how I began reading the Bible daily and what helped me stay consistent.

The Help of a Friend

I came to the Lord in 1981 in the Roman Catholic church. I’ve read the Bible some but was not consistent in it.

In 1984, I met another Christian whom I saw walking way ahead of me on God’s path. I approached him with some questions, and through some divine appointments, we met a few times unexpectedly. After a while, we met weekly, and he began training me as a disciple.

One of the first things he told me was that I must read the Bible daily.

I saw he was right. If I wanted to know God and His way, I must read His word.

The Practical Method

We agreed that I would do the following, and that’s what I’ve done.

For three days, I read one chapter a day.

Then, for three more days, I read two chapters a day.

From the seventh day, I read three chapters from the Bible every day.

The Helps I Had

One help was that he told me he would ask me next week if I was reading or not.

I remember that I was reading, and he probably asked me if I did. I can’t remember him asking, but the supporting relationship was likely a factor.

At that time, I was a long-distance runner. I was 20, and I completed my only marathon race that year. I trained 5–6 times a week. Consistency was natural to me.

My friend discipled me for two years. Later, we both went on our way. Sometimes, we still meet, rarely.

But the daily Bible reading remained.

How Much I Read?

After some months of reading three chapters a day, I felt I needed more. I began reading five chapters a day. Later, it was seven chapters, and even later, ten.

I had a lot of freely usable time. I was studying in college. No wife, children, and no job yet.

Today, I read one chapter in my mother tongue, 10–15 verses in Greek, and I also work daily on a translation.

So, I’m not reading ten chapters a day.

How much to Read?

How much should you read for a healthy Christian life? Is there a minimum and a maximum amount?

The Bible never tells us specifically how much to read it. The food analogy (Luke 4:4) and some other passages may give us some hints, but we never read, “Thus saith the Lord, You must read five chapters a day.” Part of the story is that the Bible was not divided into chapters and verses when written, and the authors never thought that their writing would become parts of “the Bible.”

So here is my personal input. In my opinion, a good minimum for a healthy Christian walk is three chapters a day.

I won’t throw stones at you if you read less, but as we need not only quality but quantity of food for a healthy body, I think three chapters a day are a good amount.

Is there such a thing as a maximum? Is there a number so high that it becomes unpractical and problematic to sustain?

Again, I don’t tell you not to read more than a certain amount. Sometimes, it can bring a great blessing to overwhelm yourself with the Word of God.

But for a sustainable daily Bible reading, the practical top I found was ten chapters a day.

I was reading that much for some years, and it was an immense help in my knowledge and spiritual growth.

Richly

Colossians 3:16 says, “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly” (KJ2000). That takes a lot of Bible reading. But it is worth it abundantly.

If you read the Bible consistently, you have a good chance that you will go forward, grow in His grace, and fulfill His plan for your life.

If you don’t read the Bible consistently, your chance to fulfill God’s will for your life is slim.

So, here is the conclusion.

Daily, consistently, read your Bible.

--

--

Mucsi Ferenc
Biblical Christian

A committed Christian since 1981. Enjoying freedom from sin since 2008. Have seen God's glory in 2022. Loving the Lord and enjoying life with Him.