New Testament Reading Plan

Using the Comb Method

Mucsi Ferenc
Biblical Christian
2 min readJan 22, 2024

--

Image by Adriano Gadini and Pexels on Pixabay

Sometimes, reading plans can help us be consistent in our Bible reading. Here, I offer you one using the comb method.

What Is the Comb Method?

It’s simple.

We can read the New Testament beginning with Matthew’s Gospel and reading through Revelation. If we want to read three chapters daily, we finish our reading in 87 days.

We can begin reading Matthew 1–3, the next day Matthew 4–6, then Matthew 7–9, and so on. This way, we read the same book with the same theme every day.

This method is okay.

However, I usually read from more than one part of the Holy Scriptures daily.

For example, one chapter from the Gospels, one chapter from Paul’s epistles, and one chapter from the other epistles.

This gives me variety. I like that.

This way, I don’t “touch” the Bible at one point in one day, but three, like the teeth of a comb the hair. That’s why we call this the comb method.

It’s simple. We just have to be consistent in applying it.

What If We Don’t Read One day?

No worries. We are not under the law.

I admit that there are days when I skip Bible reading. Not often, but it happens to me, too.

In that case, you don't have to read six chapters the next day. You can if you want to, but you don’t have to.

We are not under judgment. “There is therefore now no condemnation to them who are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit” (Romans 8:1).

Just go on, and be happy in the Lord.

Download the PDF

I quickly compiled a pdf file you can download and use for free.

You can download it from here:

New Testament Reading Plan

Or you can download the picture and use it.

New Testament Reading Plan
Author’s image. Use it freely.

If I can help you to read the Bible, I’m happy.

Just be consistent. Read it.

God bless you.

--

--

Mucsi Ferenc
Biblical Christian

A committed Christian since 1981. Enjoying freedom from sin since 2008. Have seen God's glory in 2022. Loving the Lord and enjoying life with Him.