Firm Foundation: Song Evaluation

Sammy Arizaga
Biblical Worship
Published in
2 min readSep 29, 2022

Authors: Cody Carnes, Chandler Moore, Austin Moore

Cody Carnes
Chandler Moore

Verses that it is based off of: Matthew 7: 24–27

Themes: Faith and Trust, God’s Attributes, Peace and Hope, Suffering and Hope

Original Key: Bb

Recommended Keys: A, Bb, D

Tempo: Medium

BPM: 148

Release Date: December 10, 2021

Live Playing of Firm Foundation

Firm Foundation (He Won’t) was written by Cody Carnes, Chandler Moore, and Austin Moore. This song has been sung at church services and even at major Christian conferences the most known is Passion. I actually heard Cody Carnes sing this song at Passion this past year and it was great! To give some more info on who Cody Carnes is he started off playing music since he was a child and then led his first worship service when he was a teenager. He started his music career with singing in a few bands and then around 2017 is when he kicked off his career.

Here’s a link that goes into more depth of Cody Carnes biography.

Cody Carnes Biography, Songs, & Albums | AllMusic

The bridge of this song is where you can see the scripture from Matthew 7:24–27 the most.

It says “Rain came, and wind blew, but my house was built on you. I’m safe with You, I’m going to make it through.” Verse 25 says “And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on his house, but it did not fail, because it had been founded on the rock”

This song I know for me personally reminds me of the importance of relying on God fully especially in the times where I’m at my lowest. It’s a great reminder of the faithfulness of God and that even when the things of this world have failed me God won’t! I just need to run to Him and make sure that I build my house on His firm foundation.

I think this song is great to sing in a worship setting! I know some people are against it because they feel like it's more for performance but at the end of the day as long as the intentions are meant to worship God only and not for the performance aspect then it is perfect!

--

--