About The Bibliophile Reading Project

Katie Kuppens
Bibliophile Reading Project
2 min readNov 28, 2018

--

Photo by Susan Yin on Unsplash

My name is Katie, and I love books. Like, a lot. A LOT, a lot. My TBR pile is threatening to take over my apartment and I can’t go into a bookstore without supervision. When I had a bad day as a kid, I would reorganize the books in my room to cheer myself up. (My mom still has a hard time understanding that particular quirk of mine). I read books in college as an English major, and now I have a career in book publishing. But more on that later.

In 2017, I gave myself a reading project in response to the then-recent presidential elections: I was going to spend a whole year reading books by women, people of color, people with disabilities, and members of the LGBTQIA+ community. I wanted to celebrate people of all different backgrounds through the medium I love. Books! (In case you missed it, I love them).

I didn’t assign myself a project in 2018, but have been thinking more and more that I would like to dedicate 2019 to reading books only by female-identifying authors. This year has been a roller-coaster for me as a woman. From the continuation of the #MeToo movement to the Kavanaugh hearings to seeing so many women of different backgrounds be elected to government in the midterms, I have felt a lot of emotions regarding what it means to be a woman in this country. I want to explore and push my boundaries about what exactly being female (and, also, being…

--

--