The Virgin Banker

Ivan Leo
bibliotek
Published in
1 min readJan 3, 2019

The Virgin Banker is a riveting account of how a motley crew of individuals came together to build Virgin Money, Virgin Direct and more. As a biography written by the CEO of Virgin Money, it gives us a behind the scenes look into the struggles that the business faced and a real-world application of the EBO (Everyone’s Better Off) philosophy that Branson founded the Virgin group on.

As someone with little to no knowledge of the banking industry, many of the figures mentioned in the book were completely foreign to me, much less the positions they occupied. But i truly sympathized with the struggles they faced, each individual was trying to make their own difference in their own unique way.

I especially found it insightful when Jayne-Anne talked about her struggle dealing with motherhood and its associated challenges. That humanised her in my eyes and when she came out through that challenge stronger, with a strong impetus to create something that would be worthwhile spending time away from her child, that was incredible.

Overall, it’s an interesting read that I enjoyed.

Rating: 3/5

--

--

Ivan Leo
bibliotek

I write short pieces on whatever crosses my path in my daily life.