Over the handlebars

but landed on my feet

seth hillinger
Bicycle Diaries
1 min readNov 20, 2013

--

I love my Surly Steamroller. It’s a true fixie, pedals always in motion and therefore it only needs a front brake. Most people don’t understand why there isn’t a back brake. I can’t easily explain it but it has to do with the force of motion and physical dynamics. Anyway, you really have to brake hard to lift the back wheel off the ground.

Today I was late to pick up my son from preschool and was riding fast down Canal St, moving with the traffic. Suddenly an unmarked police car stopped short directly in front of me, for no apparent reason. I brake hard and am thrown over the handlebars. Picture yourself sitting in a four-legged chair and having someone thrust the back legs forward. It’s up to physics what will happen but in this case, like a pommel horse gymnast, I do a spread eagle over the handlebars and land on my feet. My right hand never let go of the handlebar.

I was stunned. People looked at me in amazement. And in a NY second, I was back in motion. And the unmarked cop was chuckling to himself.

--

--