relics

friends and taxis

seth hillinger
Bicycle Diaries

--

A college friend was in town hanging out a little too far for a 9pm bike ride. It had been a great family father’s day, and I really just wanted to get a ride in. My old pals wanted me to take a cab. I suggested meeting at a bar half-way, not sure if they’d bite.

I headed down 3rd St from Smith St where I stopped by the original wall of Washington Park. On this dusty site in 1898, the Brooklyn National Leaguers used to play ball. They got the nickname Trolley Dodgers from all the trolleys that passed by. In 1913 they moved to Ebbets Field. Yes, there was a stadium in the Gowanus area. Wouldn’t that be great.

I finished my ride, biking up to Ft. Greene, then down to Dumbo, and finally back along Bridge park. Here, the new pier 3 was quite active for Sunday at 10pm. Some people bbq’ing. Other people playing soccer and basketball. Awesome to see.

I ended up never seeing my old bud. I did however see a moment in Brooklyn time. Biking was just what I needed. Taking a taxi to “go out” is becoming a relic of Manhattan’s past.

--

--