seth hillinger
Bicycle Diaries
Published in
1 min readJun 16, 2017

--

The friction of life. One of technologies biggest achievements is reducing friction between humans. No longer do we need speak to a bank teller, call for a taxi, or even protest (though less effective). However, I’m beginning to question whether this frictionless society is better for us.

Biking is a great way to free yourself from this frictionless society. It is literally full of friction. From the grinding of cogs, chains, and gears, to the force of wind against your face.

Biking to the coffee shop today, I had a moment of too much friction. I was turning left onto a one-way street and as the light turned green, I waited for the pedestrians to walk. As the busy people weaved past each other an opening emerged. I looked up only to see a teenage doing a wheelie the wrong way down the street and headed straight for me. The pedestrians stopped to give him space but I stayed still, no where to go. My presence forces the trickster to drop his front wheel and as he swerved around me, upset, he says “you’re on a bike, ride it.”

Thanks buddy. Agree with the statement, but I disagree with the context, you show-off blowhard. Express yourself. Find the friction but be respectful with those you rub against.

--

--