Silence

Nalan Köroğlu
Bicycle In Stories
Published in
3 min readNov 7, 2016

The only vehicle that can be harmonious with silence.

I said remain silence to my shoes. It was such a beautiful morning and I couldn’t dare to make noise. Slowly, I opened the curtains and day light came in like stripes. I had already worn my outfit so, I could easily go out before sun shine rose the others. There was no sound but the air they were inhaling and exhaling, while I was passing through the front door. At the time I closed it, very low click reached to my ears. At first, that sound scared me but then I thought that no one could hear, I barely heard tough.

It was a sunny morning yet it was chilly. The breeze, took all the way down and caught my ears with its freezing touch. Shiver and shake got my body for a moment to remind me that autumn is on her way towards me. Luckily, I had repaired my gloves the day before in case it got cold. After I took out my bike, I wore them to save my little, skinny fingers.

Through my way, I had to ride on the highway for a few kilo meters. The rush hoarse of the traffic was brutally cutting my senses. I tried not to hear them, for doing this I fixed my eyes on the road to avoid listening. In that beautiful sunny morning, it seemed torture to me looking on a mournful grey road.

Unconsciously, I increased my spin speed on the pedals to get rid of that colourless way. And it worked. I felt relief when I got out the high way. From now on, I was riding on a straight and clear path. A few minutes later, all the bad memories of the road was gone and I was full of joy and fulfilment. There was a lake on my right side. Because of weather’s heat, fog was rising up from the lake.

The lake was glowing silver and it seemed to me that the silver fog became solid and began to expand. I was at the very edge of its silver mouth so it could easily bite me. Then I stopped so did it. Everything stood still. In that frozen moment, I smelled something magical. Didn’t know what was that scent but, it was inspirational. I took the deepest breathes of my life till the chill reached my ears again. Then, with my lungs full of this spirited air, I turned my bike home.

Unfortunately, I had to ride back that awful grey road but this time, I didn’t care much. I was covered with a silver magical coat that lifted me gently a few inches up from my body. Therefore, all the roads seemed so far away from me and silent. I carried a big smile all the way back home and when I got there, I still have that charming air in my lungs. It had been just an hour when I came home but it felt to me like a long journey between two worlds in different solar systems.

After I opened the door, I listened the sounds of the house before going inside. I heard the same breathing sounds as I had been going out. Everybody was still asleep. Nobody noticed that I was gone and back again. Then, I changed my clothes and went back to my bed and dreamt of our silence journey with my dear bicycle till breakfast. No other vehicle, except a bike, could be harmonious with silence.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
Bicycle In Stories

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com