Territory of Human Characters

Nalan Köroğlu
Bicycle In Stories
Published in
3 min readJan 27, 2017

I suspect that there is only limited version of characters exist and same kinds never meet each other, ever.

I saw that girl who looks like me, walks like me, even have brown wavy hair like me. Her nose was slim and sharp, lips were narrow. I had the same pants she was wearing. When I saw her, she was walking with her bicycle at her side. The street was too crowded to ride. I was sitting on a bench as she passed. I got up and ran to meet her but I couldn’t as expected. She lost out of view in seconds. I knew we both have the same character that’s why we will never meet.

While ago, I realized there is definite number of human prototypes in the world. All the human characters are created based on these types. I don’t know the exact number. These numbered types of people live in a definite territory. In this area, each type of character must be unique. If one of these characters changes its’ location, it’s corresponded one must leave that area where the character will locate. Therefore, no one crosses its’ similar one.

When one starts a new job she/he always hears other employees comments about her/him: “You’re as crazy as our Chirstie, the secretary before you. “ or “ Your hair is the same like our old bud. “ Now and then everyone becomes a part of this kind of stories; but no one meets the other hero of the story.

Names in the stories change, people in the story changes. Sum of the characters always remains. If one of those characters die new one will come and takes its’ place. It is not about karma, it is about balance. Circulation of life needs different kinds of species in habitats. And when it comes to human, it also needs certain types of people to produce life energy. Like a machine needs lots of linked components, spirits needs lots of linked souls.

These characters live in groups without knowing each other. They share the same territory but not involve. Life just needs them to be close. If one of those characters in the same territory wants to live in another place it depends on the corresponded one that lives on the location the one wants to go. If the corresponded one dies or moves its’ place, then the one can change its’ living place.

But sometimes if one insist on going to live in another place, it starts a domino effect. Life gives every signal to the one not to leave; but she/he doesn’t listen, goes anyway. That makes pressure on the corresponded character. İf life can not make one stay it pushes other one to go. And that goes on. Or time comes one of them to leave the earth for good. No matter what, they mustn’t meet.

I am very curious if this is true and what will happen when we meet. But I couldn’t see that girl again in that crowded street. Not her and no other one, I haven’t met my corresponded character yet. Sometimes I take long cycling trips to find them. I ride along the roads where I’ve already seen one of me. When I get lucky, I see one looking at me on the other side of a bus’s window. That always happens instantly and I can’t ride fast enough to catch a bus.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
Bicycle In Stories

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com