The Dog and The Cyclist

Nalan Köroğlu
Bicycle In Stories
Published in
3 min readApr 6, 2017

or How to keep on cycling while dogs are around.

Up, up the hill one goes with a bike, one finds lots of villages full of dogs.

Today was no different. Every inch I pedalled I found more dogs. Most of them were free dogs so they didn’t bother to bark, even look at. Owned dogs were noisy. As soon as they saw me or heard my chain jingling they started barking.

Almost all the dogs were unchained. It means there had been some chasing and racing with them. Little ones were easy to put behind but big ones made me stop a few times. I knew they had good minor but I was a stranger to them with spinning wheels what annoys them most. So it was better to decrease my speed when I saw a four legged body.

As long as I empathized with them there was no need to be scared. I was the one trespassing and they were the tenant. When I got in nose to nose with a giant shepherd dog luckily these were in my mind.

From nowhere the dog appeared in front of my bicycle. I was on my saddle he was on the ground and still his nose almost reached mine. I had no choice but stop. We were looking right in to one another’s pupil. He was the land lord so being kind was my duty.

I got off my bike gently and slowly, trying not to make him mad. At the same time he took a step forward and came very close to me and our conversation began.

Dog: Woof!

Me: May I pass?

Dog: Growlll grrrr!

Me: Get back please!

Dog: Woof wof!

Me: I said get off!

Dog: Grrr

Me: Off you go! Leave!

Dog: — -

I admit that courtesy didn’t work but commanding voice did. While my voice became more tough and commanding, he stepped back. At the end of the conversation he was standing further from me. Then he turned and get off the way and let me pass. I didn’t forget to say thank you before I continued.

Not for long I was on my way, two other four legged body get into my vision. Both of them were staring at me and barking but I had no intent to stop. I was climbing a steep hill and ıf I did stop there were no chance to get on the wheels again. So I started shouting at them more loudly then their barking voice.

At first they didn’t seem to be affected by my sound. I kept on yelling, ıt was very hard though cause I was forcing myself to manage climbing at the same time. I was nearly out of breath when I came near the dogs. Steep hill made my speed very slow so my wheels weren’t bothering the dogs too much. I kept going through them and they kept barking but didn’t come closer. At that time I couldn’t inhale enough to yell or even talk but we had eye to eye communication with them. I believed they understood me that I was just passing by and concerning my own business.

I came across lots of dogs during the rest of my journey and had no trouble. I know most dogs seem silly but they have keen senses. And they also have lots of kinds of communication skills. If a cyclist empathizes with dogs, always finds a way to cope with them. As a result there is no need to run from them or to be afraid; just enjoy cycling.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
Bicycle In Stories

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com