Kevin TheMysfit Wiggins On Starting and Prospering in Poetry

Poet interview

Nicholas Barron
Literairyland Lite

--

Kevin TheMysfit Wiggins started writing poems at age six. But it wasn’t until he was an adult that his art took on its own life.

Wiggins is the 2019 winner of The DC Poet Project. The honor’s awarded each year by the Washington, DC-based arts nonprofit Day Eight. Wiggins’s prize for winning is the publishing of his first poetry collection, Port of Exit. The book is now available for purchase.

Q&A with Kevin TheMysfit Wiggins

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I grew up in Baltimore, in and around the DMV (DC/Maryland/Virginia). I now live back in Baltimore.

I don’t have many hobbies, probably because I spend most of my time working. I have three jobs, four if you include selling my new book of poetry (Port of Exit). When I do have free time, I’m usually sleeping, hanging out at a bar with friends, or alone on the couch with Häagen-Dazs and Netflix.

Is it true you started writing poetry when you were six?

Yes, I started writing poetry at a very young age. Despite the nightmare that home was for me as a child, my poetry didn’t reflect that at the…

--

--

Nicholas Barron
Literairyland Lite

Self-employed consultant and creative writer. Get a list of the week's hottest new books every Tuesday 👉 https://literairyland.beehiiv.com/subscribe | 🏳️‍🌈