About the Author

Jamie O'Donnell
Big Family Living Small
2 min readMar 16, 2019
©2019 Jamie O’Donnell

I’m Jamie, the author of this blog. I’m a creative, introspective type, an enneagram four. I want to make something beautiful and useful with my life. I love reading, EDM dance music, fashion, and philosophy. I have dreams of living in self-sustaining commune where we grow our own food and of being a city rat for life. New things are exciting to me.

I’m married to Bryan, a coffee roaster and entrepreneur, an enneagram seven. Together, we opened Second Story Coffee Roasters, a roastery that partners directly with coffee farmers. He heads that up and is an aficionado of scotch, craft beer, and ultralight backpacking. He is my opposite, makes me laugh daily, and challenges me to do things that are scary and uncertain.

We moved to Japan just before our second anniversary, when our oldest was almost one. We speak Japanese and have tried to live as integrated into the culture as is possible for two white mid-western Americans. We’ve been here for eleven years.

Jones (b. 2007) is our oldest and is a bookworm and gamer who gets excited about the newest tech gadgets.

Ezra (b. 2009) is our trickster second-born, with a mop of blonde curls and a pension for climbing trees.

Harper (b. 2011) is our fierce third child, the first girl in the family, who loves to dance and isn’t afraid to try new things.

Ivy (b. 2014) is our forever baby, a funny soul who wants to be the center of attention and is exceptionally skilled at giving compliments.

Ignatius was our beloved golden doodle, who grew up in our family with Ivy and protected us at all hours from the boogeyman. Rest in peace, Iggy. You were the best dog a family could ask for.

--

--

Jamie O'Donnell
Big Family Living Small

Writer and aspiring designer. Hopeful photographer. Wife. Mom to four. Coffee enthusiast. Attempting to live small in the big city of Tokyo.